1st ODI, East London, Mar 29 1997, Australia tour of South Africa
(47/50 ov, target 224)227/4
South Africa won by 6 wickets (with 18 balls remaining)
player of the match
Daryll Cullinan
South Africa
Australia INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Mark Taylor (c)c Rhodes b Pollock724291029.16
Michael Di Venuto c Cullinan b Kallis23141610164.28
Stuart Law c Kallis b Symcox5068926073.52
Steve Waugh run out (Gibbs/†Richardson)5061854081.96
Greg Blewett run out (Cronje)1423290060.86
Michael Bevan not out 5160953185.00
Adam Gilchrist run out (Rhodes)12100050.00
Shane Warne c Cullinan b Donald4560080.00
Paul Reiffel  b Klusener1480025.00
Jason Gillespie c Cullinan b Klusener011000.00
Adam Dale not out 1538420039.47
Extras(lb 1, w 6)7
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 4.46, 211 Mts)223/9
Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Michael Di Venuto), 2-32 (Mark Taylor), 3-129 (Stuart Law), 4-134 (Steve Waugh), 5-163 (Greg Blewett), 6-169 (Adam Gilchrist), 7-176 (Shane Warne), 8-178 (Paul Reiffel), 9-178 (Jason Gillespie)
Shaun Pollock1013613.60---00
Jacques Kallis804215.25---20
Allan Donald1003713.70---00
Lance Klusener612924.83---40
Pat Symcox1005315.30---00
Hansie Cronje602504.16---00
South Africa INNINGS (target: 224 runs from 50 overs)
Adam Bacher c Warne b Reiffel2739454069.23
Herschelle Gibbs c †Gilchrist b Dale1019292052.63
Jacques Kallis st †Gilchrist b Warne63761204082.89
Lance Klusener  b Warne048000.00
Daryll Cullinan not out 851161369073.27
Jonty Rhodes not out 2429402082.75
Extras(b 4, lb 7, nb 2, w 5)18
TOTAL(47 Ov, RR: 4.82, 191 Mts)227/4
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Herschelle Gibbs), 2-48 (Adam Bacher), 3-50 (Lance Klusener), 4-172 (Jacques Kallis)
Paul Reiffel1014414.40---12
Adam Dale1005515.50---00
Shane Warne1003623.60---30
Jason Gillespie703605.14---00
Michael Bevan1004504.50---10
Buffalo Park, East London
TossSouth Africa, elected to field first
SeriesAustralia tour of South Africa
Player Of The Match
Daryll Cullinan
Daryll Cullinan
Series resultSouth Africa led the 7-match series 1-0
Match numberODI no. 1186
Match daysday (50-over match)
ODI debut
Adam Dale
Adam Dale
Michael Di Venuto
Michael Di Venuto
South Africa Image
Cyril Mitchley
South Africa Image
David Orchard
TV Umpire
South Africa Image
Wilf Diedricks
Match Referee
England Image
Raman Subba Row
  • Scorers: R Postman (South Africa) and MK Walsh (Australia)
  • 12th Men: DN Crookes (South Africa) and AJ Bichel (Australia)
  • Attendance: 14,742