2nd Final (D/N), Sydney, January 20, 1996, Benson & Hedges World Series
(25/25 ov, T:168) 159/8

Australia won by 9 runs (revised target)

Player Of The Series
423 runs
Australia INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Mark Waugh c & b Kalpage73821088089.02
Mark Taylor (c)c †Kaluwitharana b Kalpage82951556086.31
Ricky Ponting c Vaas b Dharmasena1726261065.38
Steve Waugh c Kalpage b Dharmasena2750028.57
Stuart Law  b Vaas2129321072.41
Michael Bevan not out 3234561094.11
Ian Healy not out 40283210142.85
Extras(lb 5, w 1)6
TOTAL50 Ov (RR: 5.46, 212 Mts)273/5
Fall of wickets: 1-135 (Mark Waugh, 24.5 ov), 2-170 (Ricky Ponting, 31.5 ov), 3-176 (Steve Waugh, 33.3 ov), 4-184 (Mark Taylor, 36.2 ov), 5-210 (Stuart Law, 42.1 ov)
Chaminda Vaas1014714.70---00
Ravindra Pushpakumara813904.87---11
Manjula Munasinghe403308.25---00
Kumar Dharmasena1004524.50---00
Ruwan Kalpage1004724.70---00
Sanath Jayasuriya805707.12---00
Sri Lanka INNINGS (Target: 168 runs from 25 overs)
Sanath Jayasuriya c McGrath b Warne30253050120.00
Romesh Kaluwitharana lbw b McGrath012000.00
Aravinda de Silva c Reiffel b ME Waugh67130085.71
Asanka Gurusinha c Warne b Reiffel24152620160.00
Arjuna Ranatunga (c)c Law b Warne4143702095.34
Ruwan Kalpage c Taylor b McDermott910161090.00
Hashan Tillakaratne run out (ME Waugh)2526541096.15
Kumar Dharmasena c SR Waugh b Warne711110063.63
Manjula Munasinghe not out 35120060.00
Chaminda Vaas not out 88900100.00
Extras(lb 3, w 3)6
TOTAL25 Ov (RR: 6.36, 128 Mts)159/8
Did not bat: Ravindra Pushpakumara 
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Romesh Kaluwitharana, 0.2 ov), 2-22 (Aravinda de Silva, 3.4 ov), 3-49 (Sanath Jayasuriya, 6.3 ov), 4-66 (Asanka Gurusinha, 9.1 ov), 5-87 (Ruwan Kalpage, 12.4 ov), 6-135 (Arjuna Ranatunga, 20.1 ov), 7-146 (Kumar Dharmasena, 22.5 ov), 8-146 (Hashan Tillakaratne, 23.1 ov)
Glenn McGrath503617.20---01
Mark Waugh503116.20---10
Shane Warne502034.00---10
Steve Waugh1014014.00---00
Paul Reiffel402215.50---10
Craig McDermott503316.60---00
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Sydney Cricket Ground
TossSri Lanka, elected to field first
Player Of The Series
Mark Taylor
Shane Warne
Sri Lanka
Romesh Kaluwitharana
Series resultAustralia won the best-of-3-finals 2-0
Match numberODI no. 1043
Match daysdaynight (50-over match)
Peter Parker
Steve Randell
TV Umpire
Darrell Hair
Match Referee
New Zealand
Graham Dowling
  • RS Kaluwitharana was named the Player of the Preliminary Series prior to the start of the match.
  • Aus 10 ov 34/0; 20 ov 105/0; 30 ov 162/1; 40- 198/4.
  • Aus 50 off 11.3 ov; 100 off 19.1 ov; 150 off 27.4 ov; 200 off 40.4 ov; 250 off 47.4 ov.
  • ME Waugh - 50 off 55 balls Taylor - 50 off 63 balls
  • de Silva was injured with a bleeding hand when he dropped Healy (11) in the 46th over, off the bowling of Jayasuriya. M Muralitharan substituted for the remainder of the innings.
  • Ranatunga dropped Healy (13) in the first ball of the 47th over bowled by Vaas.
  • Vaas dropped Healy (30) off his own bowling in the 49th over
  • Australian score is the 4th highest ODI total in Sydney
  • Heavy rain during the tea break delayed the start of Sri Lanka's innings. Target was readjusted to 168 in 25 overs (167 would be an Australian win).
  • SL 10 ov 69/4, 20 ov 135/5. SL 50 off 6.4 ov; 100 off 14.5 ov; 150 off 23.5 ov.
  • Jayasuriya (12) was dropped by Reiffel in the 3rd over off McGrath's bowling.
  • Ranatunga (20) survived a caught and bowled chance in the 16th over by Reiffel.
  • Jayasuriya was a runner for Ranatunga from the 18th over, having been denied to do so by umpire Randell in the previous over.
  • Match finished at 10:58pm (scheduled finishing time was 10:30pm)
  • 12th men: S Lee (Aus), M Muralitharan (SL)
  • Crowd: 39,233
Sri Lanka Innings
<1 / 3>
Benson & Hedges World Series