7th Match (D/N), Brisbane, Jan 5 1997, Carlton & United Series
(48.5/50 ov, target 282)284/3
West Indies won by 7 wickets (with 7 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
110* (109)
Australia INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Mark Waugh run out (Walsh/Adams)1021141635289.47
Mark Taylor (c)c †Murray b McLean2652633050.00
Stuart Law c Lara b Bishop931071292286.91
Steve Waugh run out (Chanderpaul/Hooper)68120075.00
Michael Bevan not out 1822330081.81
Greg Blewett not out 18171601105.88
Extras(lb 7, nb 8, w 3)18
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 5.62, 210 Mts)281/4
Fall of wickets: 1-57 (Mark Taylor), 2-202 (Mark Waugh), 3-227 (Steve Waugh), 4-253 (Stuart Law)
Courtney Walsh805006.25---04
Ian Bishop1023313.30---10
Curtly Ambrose905305.88---012
Nixon McLean602313.83---21
Carl Hooper705207.42---00
Shivnarine Chanderpaul201608.00---00
Jimmy Adams804705.87---00
West Indies INNINGS (target: 282 runs from 50 overs)
Sherwin Campbell c †Healy b Bichel612161050.00
Junior Murray c Moody b Stuart21213820100.00
Brian Lara c Bevan b Stuart1021141288289.47
Carl Hooper not out 110109164101100.91
Jimmy Adams not out 3440573085.00
Extras(b 4, lb 4, w 3)11
TOTAL(48.5 Ov, RR: 5.81, 203 Mts)284/3
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Sherwin Campbell), 2-45 (Junior Murray), 3-199 (Brian Lara)
Andy Bichel1015715.70---10
Anthony Stuart1004824.80---00
Tom Moody6.505007.31---00
Shane Warne905105.66---10
Michael Bevan1004604.60---10
Steve Waugh302408.00---00
Brisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane
TossAustralia, elected to bat first
SeriesCarlton & United SeriesWest Indies tour of Australia
Player Of The Match
Carl Hooper
Carl Hooper
Match numberODI no. 1159
Match daysdaynight (50-over match)
ODI debut
Andy Bichel
Andy Bichel
Anthony Stuart
Anthony Stuart
Australia Image
Peter Parker
Australia Image
Steve Randell
TV Umpire
Australia Image
Tony McQuillan
Match Referee
England Image
Raman Subba Row
PointsWest Indies 2, Australia 0
  • JN Gillespie, PR Reiffel, and GD McGrath were all injured, allowing AJ Bichel (Qld) and AM Stuart (NSW) to make their international debuts. It is believed to be the first time two ODI debutants have opened the bowling for Australia since 1975.
  • 12th Men: ML Hayden (Aus) and AFG Griffith (WI)
  • Crowd: 21801 Taken from the official scoresheets