Matches (17)
WPL (2)
PSL 2024 (2)
NZ v AUS (1)
Ranji Trophy (2)
WCL 2 (1)
Nepal Tri-Nation (1)
Sheffield Shield (3)
CWC Play-off (4)
BAN v SL (1)

Zimbabwe vs India, 2nd Match at Harare, Jun 24 2001, Coca-Cola Cup (Zimbabwe)

2nd Match, Harare, June 24, 2001, Coca-Cola Cup (Zimbabwe)
(26.2/50 ov, T:134) 137/1

India won by 9 wickets (with 142 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match
70* (70)
Zimbabwe Innings
India Innings
Match Flow
Zimbabwe  (50 ovs maximum)
c †Dighe b Nehra021000.00
c Laxman b Agarkar32531112060.37
c Laxman b Khan622220027.27
b Khan4641066.66
c Dravid b Agarkar717261041.17
c Ganguly b Nehra1660016.66
run out (sub [RS Sodhi])1644601036.36
c Harbhajan Singh b Ganguly1336410036.11
c Sehwag b Ganguly1120311055.00
not out 1926353073.07
b Agarkar423320017.39
Extras(b 4, lb 4, nb 5, w 7)20
TOTAL41.5 Ov (RR: 3.17)133
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Alistair Campbell, 0.2 ov), 2-15 (Stuart Carlisle, 5.1 ov), 3-20 (Grant Flower, 5.6 ov), 4-35 (Guy Whittall, 11.1 ov), 5-39 (Dirk Viljoen, 12.4 ov), 6-77 (Dion Ebrahim, 23.1 ov), 7-82 (Heath Streak, 26.2 ov), 8-102 (Andy Blignaut, 33.2 ov), 9-104 (Travis Friend, 33.5 ov), 10-133 (Bryan Strang, 41.5 ov)
0.2 to ADR Campbell, once again a touch short of a length, outside the off, shaping away beautifully, Campbell can't resist and goes for a half hearted drive, the nick goes through to Dighe and Zimbabwe have got off to the worst possible start. 0/1
12.4 to DP Viljoen, short of a length, well outside the off stump, swinging away, Viljoen reaches for it, takes the edge, straight to ganguly at third slip. 39/5
5.1 to SV Carlisle, quicker one outside the off from Zaheer Khan, Carlisle dabs at the ball away from his body outside the off, the ball kisses the edge and goes through to the waiting hands of Laxman at second slip. 15/2
5.6 to GW Flower, quicker ball, rising a bit on Grant Flower outside the off, Flower goes for a half cut half drive andd only manages to drag the ball back onto the stumps, another one bites the dust!. 20/3
11.1 to GJ Whittall, short and wide outside the off stump, Whittall has a swing at it, takes the outside edge and goes flying in the air, down to third man, Rahul Dravid the happy fielder, gets around and takes a good catch. 35/4
23.1 to DD Ebrahim, back of a length, outside the off, the ball pitches and moves out a touch, Ebrahim is committed to the shot and can't help edging the ball straight to Laxman at slip. 77/6
41.5 to BC Strang, full, straight and quick, good yorker that, cleans up Bryan Strang, that's the end of the Zimbabwe innings. 133/10
33.2 to AM Blignaut, back of a length and on middle and off, Blignaut plays a heave as though he wanted to cart the ball over the on side, the ball goes straight up in the air off the edge, Harbhajan Singh bouches the skier at mid off. 102/8
33.5 to TJ Friend, back of a length outside the off, Friend looks at the ball, hangs his bat outside the off and nudges it straight to Sehwag the lone slip fielder. 104/9
India  (T: 134 runs from 50 ovs)
c †Taibu b Streak2520040.00
not out 7070129130100.00
not out 52851255161.17
Extras(lb 2, nb 2, w 9)13
TOTAL26.2 Ov (RR: 5.20, 129 Mins)137/1
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Sourav Ganguly, 0.5 ov)
0.5 to SC Ganguly, a perfect ball just outside the off stump, moving away a shade, Ganguly has a push at it, his footwork not anywhere near the prescribed standards, edges it to Taibu. 2/1
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
  • 4th Umpire - A Walsh
  • Zimbabwe 50 in 101 balls, 83 mins
  • Zimbabwe innings: 1x5 ball over (7th over - Nehra's 4th over, called by Umpire ID Robinson)
  • India 50 in 12.1 overs, 52 mins
  • 50 partnership for the second wicket between Badani and Tendulkar in 79 balls, 59 mins (Tendulkar 33* Badani 15*)
  • SR Tendulkar 50 in 57 balls, 100 mins
  • HK Badani 50 in 85 balls, 125 mins
Harare Sports Club
TossIndia, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Match numberODI no. 1729
Match daysday (50-over match)
ODI debut
TV Umpire
Match Referee
PointsIndia 2, Zimbabwe 0
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
India Innings
<1 / 3>
Coca-Cola Cup (Zimbabwe)