Final (replay), Southgate, September 21, 2008, Cockspur Cup
(44.3/45 ov, T:211) 211/5

Kibworth won by 5 wickets (with 3 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match
75 (91)

Kibworth win replayed Cockspur final

Kibworth beat Malden Wanderers by five wickets to win the replayed Cockspur Cup final at Southgate

Cricinfo staff
Kibworth 211 for 5 (Ferraby 75) beat Malden Wanderers 210 by five wickets
Kibworth beat Malden Wanderers by five wickets to win the replayed Cockspur Cup final at Southgate. The original match at Lord's earlier this month was abandoned because of heavy rain, but the conditions for the second stab could not have been more of a contrast.
Put in to bat, Malden Wanderers got off to a good start before openers Jon Hess and Dan Euston fell in successive overs to leave them on 75 for 2 in the 16th over. As was the case in the first game, the spinners then took a firm hold over the middle overs. Alan Cope, top scorer at Lord's, again looked in good form but Cope's run-out triggered a mini collapse, although Giles Puckle and Jon Albert thumped 40 in four overs at the death, including 24 off the last two overs.
Set a target of 211, Man of the Match Nick Ferraby led the charge with 75 from 91 deliveries, and he received excellent support from Charlie Morgan (43). The pair came together with Kibworth on 77 for 3 in the 19th over and added 84 for the fourth wicket.
When Morgan departed in the 38th over, Kibworth needed 50 from the last seven overs, but Ferraby marshalled the chase with skill before he perished to a boundary catch off the first delivery of the penultimate over with ten needed.
Tim Mason (24*) and Simon Renshaw kept their nerve, Renshaw cracking fours off successive balls in the final over to secure the win, Kibworth's second in five years.
As their supporters from Leicestershire celebrated in the evening sunshine, there was only one sobering thought. Cockspur's sponsorship finishes this year, and there are growing indications that the ECB might suspend the 45-over tournament next year as it concentrates on its new club Twenty20 competition. A decision is expected next month.

Kibworth Innings
<1 / 3>