Final, Chennai, Feb 5 - 9 2009, Duleep Trophy
459 & 417/8d
(target 678)199 & 403
West Zone won by 274 runs
• Cricinfo staff

Powar takes seven as West lift title

A seven-wicket haul by Ramesh Powar helped West Zone lift the Duleep Trophy with a massive 274-run win in Chennai

Match centre 
Scorecard summary
West Zone459/10(141.4 overs)1st INNINGS
Ajinkya Rahane165 (301)
Bhavik Thaker73 (136)
South Zone199/10(73.2 overs)1st INNINGS
S Badrinath*100 (163)
Ramesh Powar3/47(17)
Rajesh Pawar3/73(23.2)
West Zone417/8(92 overs)2nd INNINGS
South Zone403/9(100 overs)2nd INNINGS
Ramesh Powar7/140(38)
Rajesh Pawar2/112(26)
end of over 1004 runs • 2 wickets
South: 403/9CRR: 4.03 
Ravichandran Ashwin46 (82)
Ramesh Powar 38-9-140-7

That's it West Zone win by 274 runs and lift the Duleep Trophy for the 17th time. The players come out to shake hands with each other. Ramesh Powar picks up 10 wickets for the match. South Zone were never in the match after their poor performance in the first innings.

Badrinath: "We were outplayed in all three departments, we did not apply ourselves and did not bowl good lengths. 678 on any track is a bit too much, it was almost impossible."

Badrinath lifts the runners-up Trophy.

Wasim Jaffer: "Good season for me and the team, they had a great batting line up, but we bowled well on the 3rd morning, wicket was getting bad and the bowlers contributed."

Jaffer lifts the Duleep Trophy.

Thanks for being with us, we hope you have enjoyed the commentary, do join us again next time, until then bye from all of us here at Cricinfo.

Powar to Sreesanth, OUT

goes for the big slog and mishits it high in the air to square leg and Rahane calls for it and settles under the ball to take the catch. Powar picks up his 7th wicket and the 10th of the match.

Sreesanth c Rahane b Powar 4 (3m 5b 1x4 0x6) SR: 80
Powar to Sreesanth, no run

defended on the track.

Powar to Sreesanth, FOUR runs

uses the long handle, swings it high in the air and behind square leg to the fence, brings up the 400 for South Zone.

Powar to Sreesanth, no run

off the pad to the onside, looking to leave the ball.

Powar to Sreesanth, no run

pitches and straightens, defended to the off side.

Sreesanth enters the playing area. Has a chat with Parthiv, we might have some interesting action here.

Powar to Jakati, OUT

lbw! Powar picks up his sixth wicket, pitches it outside the off stump and straightens to strike the pad in line with the off stump, loud appeal and given by umpire Saheba.

Shadab Jakati lbw b Powar 4 (22m 17b 1x4 0x6) SR: 23.52
end of over 994 runs
South: 399/7CRR: 4.03 
Ravichandran Ashwin46 (82)
Shadab Jakati4 (16)
Dhawal Kulkarni 17-3-75-0
Kulkarni to Ashwin, no run

defended to mid-on.

Kulkarni to Ashwin, no run

short delivery and Ashwin misses the pull shot and gets hit on the helmet.

Kulkarni to Ashwin, no run

short down the leg side and Parthiv dives to his left and collects well.

Kulkarni to Ashwin, FOUR runs

full and bit wide, Ashwin times it well through extra cover and to the fence.

Kulkarni to Ashwin, no run

mistimes the drive to mid-on.

Kulkarni to Ashwin, no run

too wide outside the off stump, left alone.

Dhawal Kulkarni gets some treatment to his fingers.

end of over 981 run
South: 395/7CRR: 4.03 
Shadab Jakati4 (16)
Ravichandran Ashwin42 (76)
Ramesh Powar 37-9-136-5
Powar to Jakati, no run

comes forward and gets beaten.

Powar to Jakati, no run

blocked to the onside.

Powar changes the angle, comes round the wicket.

Powar to Jakati, no run

defended on the track on the onside.

Powar to Jakati, no run

left alone outside the off stump.

Powar to Jakati, no run

moves back and looks to defend, beats the outside edge.

Powar to Ashwin, 1 run

driven to mid-off.

end of over 974 runs
South: 394/7CRR: 4.06 
Shadab Jakati4 (11)
Ravichandran Ashwin41 (75)
Dhawal Kulkarni 16-3-71-0
Kulkarni to Jakati, no run

dropped! Hit straight back to Dhawal Kulkarni above his head on his follow-through, drops it and the ball just misses the stumps at the non-strikers end, that would have been a close thing for a run out too.

Kulkarni to Jakati, no run

lovely delivery coming round the wicket, plays and misses outside the off stump.

Match details
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai
TossWest Zone, elected to bat first
SeriesDuleep Trophy
Series resultWest Zone won the 2008/09 Duleep Trophy
Hours of play (local time)09.30 start, Lunch 12.00-12.40, Tea 14.40-15.00, Close 16.30
Match days5,6,7,8,9 February 2009 - day (5-day match)
India Image
Amiesh Saheba
South Africa Image
Marais Erasmus
TV Umpire
India Image
Shavir Tarapore
Match Referee
India Image
Sunil Chaturvedi
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to IPL questions