7th Match (D/N), Colombo, Sep 18 2002, ICC Champions Trophy
(48/48 ov, target 299)190/9
England won by 108 runs
player of the match
England INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Marcus Trescothick  b GW Flower119102175112116.66
Nick Knight  b Hondo812280066.66
Nasser Hussain (c) b Streak75971126077.31
Ronnie Irani c Campbell b GW Flower411160036.36
Ian Blackwell c †A Flower b Streak1720280185.00
Owais Shah c Campbell b Hondo25243100104.16
Alec Stewart not out 23183720127.77
Dominic Cork c Streak b Hondo011000.00
Jeremy Snape c & b Hondo71090070.00
Andy Caddick not out 106510166.66
Extras(lb 3, nb 1, w 6)10
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 5.96, 225 Mts)298/8
Did not bat: Matthew Hoggard 
Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Nick Knight, 5.3 ov), 2-187 (Nasser Hussain, 31.3 ov), 3-200 (Ronnie Irani, 34.6 ov), 4-224 (Marcus Trescothick, 38.5 ov), 5-240 (Ian Blackwell, 41.3 ov), 6-272 (Owais Shah, 46.1 ov), 7-273 (Dominic Cork, 46.3 ov), 8-287 (Jeremy Snape, 48.5 ov)
Heath Streak1005025.00344011
Douglas Hondo604547.50156010
Pommie Mbangwa1005205.20263000
Guy Whittall704406.28215000
Dougie Marillier402606.5070120
Ray Price402706.7582020
Grant Flower905125.66260200
Zimbabwe INNINGS (target: 299 runs from 48 overs)
Alistair Campbell  b Hoggard210160020.00
Dion Ebrahim c Blackwell b Hoggard2048781041.66
Grant Flower c Trescothick b Hoggard717170041.17
Andy Flower c Snape b Irani4459902074.57
Stuart Carlisle c Knight b Irani2339530058.97
Guy Whittall lbw b Irani4790057.14
Heath Streak (c)not out 5058713286.20
Dougie Marillier lbw b Snape69171066.66
Douglas Hondo  b Irani1119162057.89
Ray Price run out (Irani/Blackwell)723270030.43
Pommie Mbangwa not out 11100100.00
Extras(b 1, lb 6, nb 2, w 6)15
TOTAL(48 Ov, RR: 3.95, 208 Mts)190/9
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Alistair Campbell, 3.3 ov), 2-14 (Grant Flower, 7.2 ov), 3-55 (Dion Ebrahim, 15.6 ov), 4-102 (Andy Flower, 27.5 ov), 5-111 (Stuart Carlisle, 29.3 ov), 6-112 (Guy Whittall, 29.5 ov), 7-129 (Dougie Marillier, 34.3 ov), 8-150 (Douglas Hondo, 39.2 ov), 9-188 (Ray Price, 47.3 ov)
Andy Caddick1003703.70433010
Matthew Hoggard1012532.50461002
Dominic Cork803704.62250030
Ronnie Irani1003743.70383000
Jeremy Snape601813.00221000
Ian Blackwell402907.2591200
R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo
TossEngland, elected to bat first
SeriesICC Champions Trophy
Player Of The Match
Marcus Trescothick
Marcus Trescothick
Match numberODI no. 1880
Match daysdaynight(50-over match)
ODI debut
Ian Blackwell
Ian Blackwell
South Africa Image
Rudi Koertzen
West Indies Image
Steve Bucknor
TV Umpire
South Africa Image
David Orchard
Match Referee
Sri Lanka Image
Ranjan Madugalle
PointsEngland 4, Zimbabwe 0
  • 4th (reserve) umpire: DJ Harper (Aus)
  • ADR Campbell took over as wicket-keeper at 5.3 overs, Andy Flower left the field at the fall of Nick Knight's wicket, due to thigh strain
  • Andy Flower resumes as wicket-keeper at 169/1 after 28 overs.
  • ME Trescothick 100 in 155 mins off 89 balls, 11x4, 1x6
  • Zimbabwe were fined 2 overs for a slow over rate