22nd Match, Group F, Cape Town, September 20, 2007, ICC World Twenty20
(10.2/20 ov, T:102) 102/0

Australia won by 10 wickets (with 58 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match
Sri Lanka Innings
Australia Innings
Match Details
Sri Lanka  (20 ovs maximum)
Upul Tharanga c Lee b Bracken48100050.00
Sanath Jayasuriya lbw b Lee022000.00
Kumar Sangakkara c Clarke b Clark2223383095.65
Mahela Jayawardene (c)c Clark b Lee1220050.00
Chamara Silva c Lee b Clark611121054.54
Tillakaratne Dilshan c †Gilchrist b Clark3570060.00
Jehan Mubarak c Symonds b Watson28263330107.69
Farveez Maharoof c Clarke b Clark021000.00
Chaminda Vaas c Lee b Symonds2128341075.00
Lasith Malinga not out 12101301120.00
Dilhara Fernando c & b Bracken022000.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 2, w 1)4
TOTAL19.3 Ov (RR: 5.17, 81 Mts)101
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Sanath Jayasuriya, 0.3 ov), 2-9 (Upul Tharanga, 1.6 ov), 3-11 (Mahela Jayawardene, 2.4 ov), 4-21 (Chamara Silva, 5.3 ov), 5-30 (Tillakaratne Dilshan, 7.3 ov), 6-43 (Kumar Sangakkara, 9.3 ov), 7-43 (Farveez Maharoof, 9.5 ov), 8-83 (Jehan Mubarak, 16.2 ov), 9-99 (Chaminda Vaas, 18.5 ov), 10-101 (Dilhara Fernando, 19.3 ov)
Brett Lee402726.7573000
0.3 to ST Jayasuriya, he's gone this time, and that was another cracker - fuller, faster and angling back into the left-hander. No room to play any shot whatsoever, and up goes the finger!. 1/1
2.4 to DPMD Jayawardene, oh dear, this is carnage. Jayawardene was in no position for that stroke - a wristy whip through midwicket that turned into a looping chance for Stuart Clark at mid-on. He did well to dive forward and scoop it off the turf, but a very loose shot from Sri Lanka's captain. 11/3
Nathan Bracken3.301424.00121000
1.6 to WU Tharanga, that dismissal was somewhat telegraphed. He was dancing around at the crease and, in attempting to whip to leg, found only a leading edge. Brett Lee at deep point swallows a looping chance, and Sri Lanka are in deep trouble now. 9/2
19.3 to CRD Fernando, a poor shot - indicative of Sri Lanka's day - to finish. A slower ball from Bracken, and the batsman pops up a bottom edge back towards the bowler who has a second to think about before taking confidently. 101/10
Mitchell Johnson401804.50101010
Stuart Clark402045.00163001
5.3 to LPC Silva, he frees his arms this time, but to absolutely no avail - a massive windmill of a wind-up, but a ball that was intended to vanish over the covers instead spirals down to Brett Lee on the third man boundary. Credit to Clark, he built the pressure and Silva cracked. 21/4
7.3 to TM Dilshan, that wasn't very clever. Dilshan tries to improvise, he steps outside off and tries to sweep off a good length, but instead pats a simple chance straight into Gilchrist's gloves as he hops to the leg-side. Another one bites the dust, and with the exception of Jayasuriya, they've all been tame dismissals. 30/5
9.3 to KC Sangakkara, short but straight, Sangakkara tried to make room to free his arms but couldn't keep it down. His attempted cut was wafted straight to backward point, and Sri Lanka are in freefall now. 43/6
9.5 to MF Maharoof, good grief, another one falls. Too straight to take any liberties, but that's exactly what Maharoof did - he made to mow through the covers, but Michael Clarke at point pulls off a blinder, one-handed to his right, an inch off the ground!. 43/7
Shane Watson3.201915.7070101
16.2 to J Mubarak, slower delivery, the offspinner and the pressure told on Mubarak, trying to clear extra cover with a drive off one knee but Symonds makes no mistake, stepping back and clasping to take Sri Lanka into further trouble. 83/8
Andrew Symonds0.40213.0020000
18.5 to WPUJC Vaas, a big - but ultimately ineffectual - swing, Vaas down the track and picks out Lee at deep midwicket, five yards in from the rope, who does well stretching out to his right. 99/9
Australia  (T: 102 runs from 20 ovs)
Adam Gilchrist (c)†not out 31254440124.00
Matthew Hayden not out 58384472152.63
Extras(b 4, lb 2, nb 1, w 6)13
TOTAL10.2 Ov (RR: 9.87, 44 Mts)102
Chaminda Vaas2021010.5033001
Dilhara Fernando311204.00122000
Farveez Maharoof2034017.0014110
Tillakaratne Dilshan201306.5041010
Lasith Malinga10808.0011000
Jehan Mubarak0.208024.0000100
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Newlands, Cape Town
TossAustralia, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Stuart Clark
Match numberT20I no. 41
Hours of play (local time)First Session 10:00-11:20, Interval 11:20-11:40, Second Session 11:40-13:00
Match days20 September 2007 - day (20-over match)
Asad Rauf
South Africa
Ian Howell
TV Umpire
New Zealand
Tony Hill
Reserve Umpire
South Africa
Marais Erasmus
Match Referee
Sri Lanka
Ranjan Madugalle
PointsAustralia 2, Sri Lanka 0
  • Sri Lanka innings
  • Sri Lanka: 50 runs in 10.4 overs (65 balls), Extras 1
  • Sri Lanka: 100 runs in 18.6 overs (117 balls), Extras 4
  • Innings Break: Sri Lanka - 101/10 in 19.3 overs (SL Malinga 12)
  • Australia innings
  • Australia: 50 runs in 5.4 overs (35 balls), Extras 7
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 35 balls (AC Gilchrist 20, ML Hayden 23, Ex 7)
  • ML Hayden: 50 off 36 balls (7 x 4, 1 x 6)
  • Australia: 100 runs in 10.2 overs (65 balls), Extras 13
  • 1st Wicket: 100 runs in 65 balls (AC Gilchrist 31, ML Hayden 58, Ex 13)
  • Twenty20 International Scorer: Binoy George
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Australia Innings
<1 / 3>
ICC World Twenty20
Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D
Group E
Group F