1st T20I, Harare, June 12, 2010, India tour of Zimbabwe
(15/20 ov, T:112) 112/4

India won by 6 wickets (with 30 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match
37* (24)
Zimbabwe Innings
India Innings
Match Flow
Zimbabwe  (20 ovs maximum)
Hamilton Masakadza c Raina b Vinay Kumar1320033.33
Brendan Taylor lbw b Vinay Kumar1591421166.66
Chamu Chibhabha lbw b Chawla40304051133.33
Tatenda Taibu c Sharma b Ashwin46110066.66
Craig Ervine  b Dinda3042442071.42
Elton Chigumbura (c)c Vijay b PP Ojha3980033.33
Greg Lamb lbw b PP Ojha011000.00
Prosper Utseya  b Vinay Kumar615230040.00
Ray Price  b Dinda2310066.66
Ed Rainsford not out 1250050.00
Chris Mpofu not out 32200150.00
Extras(lb 3, nb 2, w 1)6
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 5.55, 80 Mins)111/9
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Hamilton Masakadza, 0.4 ov), 2-30 (Brendan Taylor, 2.6 ov), 3-46 (Tatenda Taibu, 5.3 ov), 4-73 (Chamu Chibhabha, 10.2 ov), 5-80 (Elton Chigumbura, 13.1 ov), 6-81 (Greg Lamb, 13.3 ov), 7-103 (Craig Ervine, 18.3 ov), 8-105 (Ray Price, 18.6 ov), 9-107 (Prosper Utseya, 19.3 ov)
Vinay Kumar302438.0081200
0.4 to H Masakadza, very tame dismissal, Vinay hits the deck hard and directs it towards the body, Masakadza isn't quick enough to fend it off and instead the ball lobs towards Raina at extra cover. 2/1
2.6 to BRM Taylor, Vinay has his revenge after being caned! Fullish in length on middle and leg, Taylor moves right across his stumps to flick it away, no bat involved, plumb as ever. 30/2
19.3 to P Utseya, yorker again! Vinay Kumar was dead accurate with this yorker and Utseya made himself some room but couldn't dig it out, the ball hits middle and off. 107/9
Ashok Dinda302729.00105002
18.3 to CR Ervine, timber! Ervine stays rooted to the crease and doesn't make up his mind on the shot, the ball skids through and knocks the off stump back a few yards. 103/7
18.6 to RW Price, off stump goes for a spin again! Dinda swings it in and fires it on the blockhole, Price fails to dig it out, the off stump lands a couple of yards back. 105/8
Pragyan Ojha401122.75140010
13.1 to E Chigumbura, Zimbabwe are losing the plot here, Chigumbura gets on his knee to sweep on seeing the fine leg up, but he gets a top edge and Vijay gets under it at long leg. 80/5
13.3 to GA Lamb, two for the over! Ojha tosses it up on middle and leg, Lamb tries to work it across the line and the ball clips the base of the pad in line with the stumps, straightforward decision. 81/6
Ravichandran Ashwin402215.5092000
5.3 to T Taibu, tossed up on middle and off, he tries to clear the infield on the on side but the ball dips towards Rohit who jogs back at mid-on, comfortably taken. 46/3
Piyush Chawla401413.50110000
10.2 to CJ Chibhabha, the googly traps him, Chibhabha gives himself a bit of room but the ball skids through and spins the other way, hits him in front of leg and umpire Tiffen is convinced. 73/4
Yusuf Pathan201005.0051000
India  (T: 112 runs from 20 ovs)
Murali Vijay c Utseya b Mpofu55310100.00
Naman Ojha c †Taibu b Mpofu29120022.22
Suresh Raina (c)c Chigumbura b Price28172831164.70
Rohit Sharma st †Taibu b Price1015221066.66
Virat Kohli not out 26213031123.80
Yusuf Pathan not out 37242723154.16
Extras(nb 1, w 3)4
TOTAL15 Ov (RR: 7.46, 63 Mins)112/4
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Murali Vijay, 0.6 ov), 2-12 (Naman Ojha, 2.5 ov), 3-47 (Suresh Raina, 7.2 ov), 4-48 (Rohit Sharma, 7.4 ov)
Chris Mpofu403127.75133130
0.6 to M Vijay, Vijay fails yet again, Mpofu bowls a slower ball on the pads and Vijay tries to flick it away by using his wrists, picks out Utseya at short square leg, easy catch. 7/1
2.5 to NV Ojha, when in doubt, go for the short ball! No secret against India, Mpofu drops it short down the leg side and Ojha moves across his stumps and withdraws the shot, the ball appears to brush his glove, Taibu and the bowler know he's gone. 12/2
Ed Rainsford302508.33103101
Prosper Utseya201206.0060100
Ray Price402426.00103000
7.2 to SK Raina, he perishes going for the big hit, he comes down the track and tries to launch him over the on side, Chigumbura leaps up and takes the catch over his head. 47/3
7.4 to RG Sharma, Game on here! Well done Taibu! Rohit gets forward to defend but the ball brushes his thigh and rolls towards Taibu, Rohit 's back foot was out of the crease and the alert Taibu whips off the bails. 48/4
Elton Chigumbura1010010.0041100
Greg Lamb1010010.0010100
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
  • Zimbabwe innings
  • Zimbabwe: 50 runs in 5.6 overs (38 balls), Extras 3
  • Zimbabwe: 100 runs in 18.1 overs (112 balls), Extras 5
  • Innings Break: Zimbabwe - 111/9 in 20.0 overs (EC Rainsford 1, CB Mpofu 3)
  • India innings
  • India: 50 runs in 8.3 overs (53 balls), Extras 2
  • India: 100 runs in 13.5 overs (87 balls), Extras 4
  • 5th Wicket: 50 runs in 39 balls (V Kohli 22, YK Pathan 29, Ex 2)
Harare Sports Club
TossIndia, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Yusuf Pathan
Series resultIndia led the 2-match series 1-0
Match numberT20I no. 182
Hours of play (local time)13.00 start, First Session 13.00-14.15, Interval 14.15-14.30, Second Session 14.30-15.45
Match days12 June 2010 - day (20-over match)
T20I debut
Naman Ojha
Naman Ojha
Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin
Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli
Ed Rainsford
Ed Rainsford
TV Umpire
Reserve Umpire
Match Referee
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
India Innings
<1 / 3>