Final (N), Hambantota, Dec 16 2020, Lanka Premier League
(20 ov, target 189)135/9
Stallions won by 53 runs
Player Of The Match
46 (35) & 2/13
Player Of The Series
17 wkts • 127 runs
end of over 201 run
GG: 135/9CRR: 6.75 
Lakshan Sandakan9 (24)
Nuwan Thushara0 (0)
Shoaib Malik 3-0-13-2
Chaturanga de Silva 1-0-1-0

That's it from us for LPL 2020. Thanks to Andrew Fernando and Madushka Balasuriya for all their work during the tournament, as well as our fantasy guru Rahul Maniraja. I'm Peter Della Penna, thanks for following along. Now onto the India v Australia Tests and the Big Bash League!

Winning captain Thisara Perera: "As a captain, I'm really really happy. My boys did really well. If we put a good score on the board, always we can maintain the pressure. That's why we won the toss and elected to bat first. We are gelling as a family. We always experiment the last few matches so [losing] was not a worry. After that, we got our full strength in the semi-finals and today also."

Losing captain Bhanuka Rajapaksa: "It's sad to lose the final but credit goes to the Stallions for the way they performed throughout the season. We had a bad day and Stallions played brilliant cricket to win the trophy. We needed to concede about 20-25 less runs in the field. It was a big task to score 190 against a team like the Stallions."

Wanindu Hasaranga is the Man of the Tournament: "I learned quite a lot by playing along with the senior players and made sure to do the right things by listening to them."

Man of the Match Shoaib Malik: "I really enjoyed the tournament. I wanted to do well in the previous games as well. Sometimes you come out successful and sometimes you don't."

Here's Dhananjaya de Silva of Jaffna Stallions: "Pressure batting second in the final, we were happy. Malik is an experienced player. He just told me what I can do. I haven't gotten a chance to bat up in the order in the past matches but today was an opportunity for me to perform."

Johnson Charles: "It always feels so grateful when you win a championship. I'm just glad we made it over the line. It's a very great feeling. With our bowlers and the skill they have we were definitely pleased with the score we had."

10:30 pm The team that stormed their way to the early lead in the LPL table finishes in the strongest terms possible. A mostly one-sided final. Stallions are deserved champs. Thisara Perera famously said after one win in the group stage that his captaincy was "perfect". This was about as close to the perfect final as his side could get. Won the toss, posted a huge total and then deflated the Gladiators with a bundle of wickets in the Powerplay during the chase.

Malik to Sandakan, 1 run

good length ball on the stumps, flicked to deep midwicket for one. Sandakan successfully preserves a not out for himself while his side goes down by 53 runs. Jaffna Stallions romp to the LPL title!

Malik to Sandakan, no run

good length ball on fifth stump, punched back to Shoaib.

Malik to Sandakan, no run

good length ball punched to extra cover.

Malik to Sandakan, no run

good length ball on off, defended back to Shoaib.

Malik to Sandakan, no run

good length ball on fourth stump, defended back to Shoaib again.

Malik to Sandakan, no run

good length ball on fourth stump, punched back to the bowler.

Shoaib to bowl the final over.

end of over 191 run
GG: 134/9CRR: 7.05 RRR: 55.00
Lakshan Sandakan8 (18)
Nuwan Thushara0 (0)
Chaturanga de Silva 1-0-1-0
Shoaib Malik 2-0-12-2
de Silva to Sandakan, 1 run

full and wide, driven to the sweeper.

de Silva to Sandakan, no run

good length ball on the stumps, mistimes a punch.

de Silva to Sandakan, no run

good length ball on the stumps, punched to the ring.

de Silva to Sandakan, no run

charges the bowler and heaves this flat toward long-on. They turn down the run.

de Silva to Sandakan, no run

good length ball, defended.

de Silva to Sandakan, no run

good length ball on off, flicked to midwicket.

Chaturanga comes on for an over in the final. Hasaranga's brother.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to IPL questions