Only Test, Christchurch, Dec 8 - 12 1995, Pakistan tour of New Zealand
208 & 434
(80.4 ov, target 357)286 & 195
Pakistan won by 161 runs
player of the match
Pakistan 1st INNINGS
Aamer Sohail hit wicket b Cairns889411715093.61
Ramiz Raja lbw b Cairns54721066075.00
Ijaz Ahmed c Morrison b Larsen3058884151.72
Inzamam-ul-Haq lbw b Cairns01115000.00
Saleem Malik c †Germon b Nash023000.00
Basit Ali c †Germon b Larsen534450014.70
Rashid Latif c Spearman b Morrison211160018.18
Wasim Akram (c)c Young b Morrison28150025.00
Mushtaq Ahmed lbw b Nash519280026.31
Waqar Younis not out 1213223092.30
Ata-ur-Rehman c & b Cairns5641083.33
Extras(lb 1, nb 3, w 1)5
TOTAL(54.1 Ov, RR: 3.84)208
Fall of wickets: 1-135 (Ramiz Raja), 2-148 (Aamer Sohail), 3-148 (Inzamam-ul-Haq), 4-149 (Saleem Malik), 5-177 (Basit Ali), 6-184 (Ijaz Ahmed), 7-184 (Rashid Latif), 8-187 (Wasim Akram), 9-203 (Mushtaq Ahmed), 10-208 (Ata-ur-Rehman)
Danny Morrison1405724.07---01
Chris Cairns11.125144.56---12
Gavin Larsen1524422.93---00
Dion Nash1134323.90---00
Dipak Patel311204.00---00
New Zealand 1st INNINGS
Bryan Young c †Rashid Latif b Ata-ur-Rehman1654781029.62
Craig Spearman  b Mushtaq Ahmed40691055157.97
Adam Parore c †Rashid Latif b Ata-ur-Rehman930391030.00
Stephen Fleming st †Rashid Latif b Mushtaq Ahmed2568943036.76
Roger Twose lbw b Wasim Akram591432105041.25
Chris Cairns  b Wasim Akram7611117010168.46
Lee Germon (c)†c †Rashid Latif b Wasim Akram2130352070.00
Dipak Patel c Aamer Sohail b Wasim Akram314160021.42
Gavin Larsen not out 531340016.12
Dion Nash c †Rashid Latif b Wasim Akram1114181178.57
Danny Morrison  b Mushtaq Ahmed064000.00
Extras(lb 4, nb 17)21
TOTAL(91.4 Ov, RR: 3.12)286
Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Bryan Young), 2-65 (Craig Spearman), 3-73 (Adam Parore), 4-119 (Stephen Fleming), 5-221 (Roger Twose), 6-262 (Lee Germon), 7-265 (Chris Cairns), 8-269 (Dipak Patel), 9-283 (Dion Nash), 10-286 (Danny Morrison)
Wasim Akram24.545352.13---08
Waqar Younis1626003.75---02
Mushtaq Ahmed30.4411533.75---00
Aamer Sohail30702.33---00
Pakistan 2nd INNINGS
Aamer Sohail  b Patel3059753050.84
Ramiz Raja lbw b Morrison621251829049.60
Ijaz Ahmed c †Germon b Nash10321331213248.35
Inzamam-ul-Haq c Fleming b Nash8214115613058.15
Saleem Malik c †Germon b Morrison2122344095.45
Basit Ali lbw b Cairns0814000.00
Rashid Latif c †Germon b Cairns391161563033.62
Wasim Akram (c)c Fleming b Cairns1965793029.23
Mushtaq Ahmed c †Germon b Larsen2463864038.09
Waqar Younis lbw b Larsen3455787061.81
Ata-ur-Rehman not out 01120000.00
Extras(b 5, lb 6, nb 5, w 4)20
TOTAL(145 Ov, RR: 2.99)434
Fall of wickets: 0-2, 1-55 (Aamer Sohail), 2-195 (Inzamam-ul-Haq), 3-224 (Saleem Malik), 4-260 (Ijaz Ahmed), 5-265 (Basit Ali), 6-339 (Ramiz Raja), 7-363 (Rashid Latif), 8-384 (Wasim Akram), 9-425 (Mushtaq Ahmed), 10-434 (Waqar Younis)
Danny Morrison2759923.66---01
Dion Nash3069123.03---31
Chris Cairns35611433.25---13
Dipak Patel2486112.54---00
Gavin Larsen29105822.00---00
New Zealand 2nd INNINGS (target: 357 runs)
Bryan Young c †Rashid Latif b Mushtaq Ahmed1846592039.13
Craig Spearman c Aamer Sohail b Mushtaq Ahmed3356975058.92
Adam Parore lbw b Mushtaq Ahmed520180025.00
Stephen Fleming lbw b Ata-ur-Rehman078000.00
Roger Twose not out 511662574030.72
Chris Cairns c Saleem Malik b Mushtaq Ahmed818251044.44
Lee Germon (c)†run out 1239441030.76
Dipak Patel  b Mushtaq Ahmed1541592036.58
Gavin Larsen c Aamer Sohail b Mushtaq Ahmed1344591029.54
Dion Nash  b Waqar Younis2241404053.65
Danny Morrison c Saleem Malik b Mushtaq Ahmed11115009.09
Extras(b 3, lb 9, nb 4, w 1)17
TOTAL(80.4 Ov, RR: 2.41)195
Fall of wickets: 1-50 (Bryan Young), 2-57 (Adam Parore), 3-60 (Stephen Fleming), 4-60 (Craig Spearman), 5-75 (Chris Cairns), 6-101 (Lee Germon), 7-131 (Dipak Patel), 8-163 (Gavin Larsen), 9-192 (Dion Nash), 10-195 (Danny Morrison)
Wasim Akram1133102.81---01
Waqar Younis2667312.80---00
Mushtaq Ahmed34.4135671.61---00
Lancaster Park, Christchurch
TossNew Zealand, elected to field first
SeriesPakistan tour of New Zealand
Player Of The Match
Mushtaq Ahmed
Mushtaq Ahmed
Match numberTest no. 1316
Match daysday (5-day match)
Test debut
Craig Spearman
Craig Spearman
Sri Lanka Image
B.C. Cooray
New Zealand Image
Steve Dunne
TV Umpire
New Zealand Image
Dave Quested
Match Referee
Sri Lanka Image
Ranjan Madugalle
Fri, 08 Dec - day 1 - New Zealand 1st innings 98/3 (Stephen Fleming 16*, Roger Twose 11*)
Sat, 09 Dec - day 2 - Pakistan 2nd innings 138/1 (Ijaz Ahmed 54*, Inzamam-ul-Haq 52*)
Sun, 10 Dec - day 3 - Pakistan 2nd innings 369/7 (Wasim Akram 11*, Mushtaq Ahmed 1*)
Mon, 11 Dec - day 4 - New Zealand 2nd innings 158/7 (Roger Twose 44*, Gavin Larsen 8*)
Tue, 12 Dec - day 5 - New Zealand 2nd innings 195 (80.4 ov) - end of match
Day 1
  • Aamer Sohail 88 off 94 balls in 116 minutes 15x4.
Day 2
  • Cairns dropped by Ramiz off Mushtaq when the score was 168/4 and Cairns on 30, in the 4th ball of the 60th over. The batsmen take 1 run.
  • Morrison equals the record number of zeros (22) scored by BS Chandrasekhar.
Day 3
  • Ijaz Ahmed dropped by Parore off Morrison when the score was 209/2 and Ijaz Ahmed on 81, in the 2nd ball of the 62nd over.
  • Rameez Raja (2) retired hurt on 1* from 2/0 to 224/3
  • Morrison gets his 150th wicket.
Day 5
  • Waqar Younis gets his 200th wicket with the wicket of Nash. With that, Waqar ties with DK Lillee for the second spot in reaching 200 wickets in the shortest number tests (38 tests). CV Grimmet took 200 wickets in 36 tests.
  • Morrison dropped on 0* by Mustaq off his own bowling.