Final, Mysore, Jan 11 - 14 2010, Ranji Trophy Super League
233 & 234
(target 338)130 & 331
Mumbai won by 6 runs
Article Thumbnail
• The Bulletin by Siddarth Ravindran in Mysore

Mumbai hold nerve to clinch 39th title

A carefree Manish Pandey century loosened Mumbai's grip on the title, but their self-belief never flagged and they prised out the last seven wickets for 76 runs to secure a 39th trophy in a tension-filled finale.

Match centre 
Scorecard summary
Mumbai233/10(79 overs)1st INNINGS
Karnataka130/10(49.3 overs)1st INNINGS
KB Pawan33 (85)
Sunil Joshi17 (23)
Mumbai234/10(83.3 overs)2nd INNINGS
Karnataka331/10(88.4 overs)2nd INNINGS
Manish Pandey144 (151)
Ganesh Satish75 (215)
Ajit Agarkar5/81(22.4)

Thanks for all the emails, the vada pavs and the Mysore masala dosas, it was a treat and a great Final, it was not possible to paste all the comments, we have enjoyed reading through all your comments and it was a pleasure bringing you the live ball by ball commentary, we hope you have enjoyed it, thanks for being with us. On behalf of Venkat Raghav and Gopi Rangarajan, this is Binoy George signing off, until next time, bye.

Here is the list of Ranji winners.

Jaffer: "I am proud with the boys, the coach and supporting staff, Karnataka played well and I would like to congratulate them. The pitch was good and chasing on the fourth day is difficult."

Uthappa: "We were confident in the morning with Pandey and Satish at the crease, we thought we could make it, but we lost wickets and could not get across the line."

Vikatadrishti: "An Excellent game of Cricket....will be remembered for the efforts of Mithun, Dhawal, Manish and Ajith. Congratulation for the winners.Well played Karnataka."

Madhu Kapoor: "What high class drama this has turned out to be.. never ever I have thoroughly enjoyed a domestic match before... hats off to Mumbai and their fighting spirit.... reminds me of Australia for a never dyin spirit and attitude.... Great match , great result... though feeling sorry for Pandey. "

Mumbai win by 6 runs and they lift the title for the 39th time, what an exciting finish we have had. Celebrations from the Mumbai team, the players jump, hug and dance. Karnataka team are devastated, the crowd are stunned and it has been a great match. They clap the champions into the pavilion, well done. A great pitch and a wonderful match. Some wonderful performances from Agarkar, Salvi, Kulkarni, Mithun and Vinay Kumar with the ball and an outstanding performance with the bat by Manish Pandey and not to forget Satish and Samant and Nayar. A Final to remember for a long time.

Agarkar to Aravind, OUT

Agarkar picks up the last and final wicket, gets his fifth, on a good length and Aravind looking to work it through the onside, gets the leading edge back in the air to Agarkar, who jumps up and takes the catch.

Sreenath Aravind c & b Agarkar 10 (31m 14b 1x4 0x6) SR: 71.42
Agarkar to Aravind, no run

defends with an angled bat to point.

Agarkar to Aravind, no run

pushes to the off side to point.

Agarkar to Aravind, no run

opens the face of the bat and plays to gully, excellent diving save by Rahane.

Slip and a gully in place.

end of over 889 runs • 1 wicket
KNTKA: 331/9CRR: 3.76 
Sreenath Aravind10 (10)
Abhimanyu Mithun1 (1)
Dhawal Kulkarni 21-3-80-3
Kulkarni to Aravind, 1 run

dropped at gully, cut in the air and straight to Rahane, who drops it, they pick up the single. That is a massive drop, has he dropped the Trophy.

The crowd are up on their feet, the cameras are clicking, stay tuned.

The fielders are placed very fine on the boundary behind the wicket.

Kulkarni to Aravind, no run

cuts and misses outside the off stump.

Round the wicket to Aravind.

Kulkarni to Aravind, FOUR runs

good aggressive shot from Aravind, back of a length delivery and he pulls it in the air through midwicket and the ball wins the battle to the fence.

Two slips and a gully in place.

Kulkarni to Aravind, no run

wide outside the off stump, goes after it and gets beaten. A close thing.

Kulkarni to Aravind, (no ball) 2 runs

oversteps for the 8th time, opens the face of the bat and runs it down to the left of third man, comes back for the second.

Kulkarni from round the wicket.

Kulkarni to Mithun, 1 run

fuller and Mithun looking for the drive, skews it out to the off side for a single.

Mithun is the last man in.

Kulkarni to Vinay, OUT

pitches outside the off stump and nips back in, goes through the gap between the bat and pad to uproot the off stump, oh! the game turns once again. Vinay was beaten by the pace. A peach of a delivery.

Vinay Kumar b Kulkarni 15 (33m 22b 2x4 0x6) SR: 68.18

16 runs required and it will be Kulkarni to continue after the drinks break.

end of over 8710 runs
KNTKA: 322/8CRR: 3.70 
Vinay Kumar15 (21)
Sreenath Aravind3 (5)
Ajit Agarkar 22-6-81-4

Drinks on the field. A good break to settle the nerves for everyone who is glued to the match, exciting finish to the wire.

Vishnu Prasad: "Mumbai has this great and unique fighting spirit which no other team in the country has in domestic circuit. We have seen such tremendous unbelievable fightback only from Mumbai sides. We have witnessed such incidents dozens of times in the past 4-5 decades. Even now they have proved they have that spirit. A wonderful wonderful match. Does not matter which side is winning/has won at the end of the day. It is cricket that is the winner!"

Agarkar to Vinay, 1 run

short down the leg side and Vinay gets a glove to it as he looks to pull it around, goes behind the wicket on the onside.

Bhargav: "This reminds of the Lagaan Movie chase and also the Pakistan Vs India chase,chennai....Will it be the chasers or defenders who are going to have the last laugh ?"

Agarkar to Aravind, 1 run

dabs it through point and picks up a single.

18 runs required.

Jaffer takes time out and has a chat with Agarkar, slowing things down.

Agarkar from over the wicket to Aravind.

The ground is full, lot of people outside and on the trees.

Agarkar to Vinay, 1 run

plays to deep backward point and picks up a single.

Agarkar to Vinay, no run

down the leg side.

Agarkar to Vinay, 5 wide

a bouncer and goes over the head of Vinay Kumar and over the keeper to the fence for wides.

Agarkar to Aravind, 1 run

opens the face off the bat and plays it down to third man.

Agarkar to Vinay, 1 run

good length delivery and Vinay pushes to mid-off for a single.

end of over 863 runs
KNTKA: 312/8CRR: 3.62 
Sreenath Aravind1 (3)
Vinay Kumar12 (17)
Dhawal Kulkarni 20-3-71-2
Kulkarni to Aravind, no run

too short and bit wide, left alone.

Aravind to face the last ball of the over.

round the wicket to Aravind.

Kulkarni to Vinay, 1 run

pushes to deep backward point and picks up a single.

Match details
Gangothri Glades Cricket Ground, Mysore
TossMumbai, elected to bat first
SeriesRanji Trophy Super League
Series resultMumbai (Bombay) won the 2009/10 Ranji Trophy Super League
Hours of play (local time)09.30 start, Lunch 12.00-12.40, Tea 14.40-15.00, Close 16.30
Match days11,12,13,14 January 2010 - day (5-day match)
India Image
Amiesh Saheba
India Image
Sanjay Hazare
TV Umpire
India Image
Sundaram Ravi
Match Referee
India Image
Subramaniam Ramesh
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions