1st Match, Dhaka, Jan 10 1998, Silver Jubilee Independence Cup
(46.2/48 ov)191/6
India won by 4 wickets (with 10 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
Bangladesh INNINGS (48 overs maximum)
Shahriar Hossain c Tendulkar b Srinath11937005.26
Javed Omar lbw b Mohanty4581080.00
Sanwar Hossain c Tendulkar b Srinath942400021.42
Aminul Islam not out 6996-7071.87
Akram Khan (c)c & b Mohanty27110028.57
Khaled Mahmud run out (Sidhu/Bahutule)4780-5058.75
Mohammad Rafique  b Srinath2016-40125.00
Khaled Mashud c Srinath b Mohanty812-0066.66
Hasibul Hossain  b Srinath34-0075.00
Shafiuddin Ahmed  b Srinath04-000.00
Shariful Haque run out (Singh)106-01166.66
Extras(b 1, lb 7, nb 3, w 6)17
TOTAL(48 Ov, RR: 3.95)190
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Javed Omar, 1.5 ov), 2-16 (Shahriar Hossain, 8.1 ov), 3-19 (Sanwar Hossain, 10.6 ov), 4-22 (Akram Khan, 13.5 ov), 5-131 (Khaled Mahmud, 39.2 ov), 6-158 (Mohammad Rafique, 42.5 ov), 7-171 (Khaled Mashud, 45.1 ov), 8-179 (Hasibul Hossain, 46.1 ov), 9-179 (Shafiuddin Ahmed, 46.5 ov), 10-190 (Shariful Haque, 47.6 ov)
Javagal Srinath1042352.30---03
Debasis Mohanty1013033.00---10
Sairaj Bahutule804305.37---30
Sourav Ganguly511302.60---00
Hrishikesh Kanitkar712703.85---10
Robin Singh603305.50---00
Sachin Tendulkar201306.50---10
India INNINGS (target: 191 runs from 48 overs)
Sourav Ganguly c †Khaled Mashud b Shafiuddin Ahmed1119-2057.89
Navjot Sidhu run out (Javed Omar/Hasibul Hossain)00-00-
Mohammad Azharuddin (c)c Akram Khan b Shafiuddin Ahmed841201677070.00
Sachin Tendulkar c & b Mohammad Rafique54761044071.05
Ajay Jadeja  b Hasibul Hossain1034-0029.41
Robin Singh run out (Shahriar Hossain)86-10133.33
Hrishikesh Kanitkar not out 1319-2068.42
Nayan Mongia not out 06-000.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 2, w 8)11
TOTAL(46.2 Ov, RR: 4.12)191/6
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Navjot Sidhu, 0.5 ov), 2-14 (Sourav Ganguly, 3.5 ov), 3-135 (Sachin Tendulkar, 31.5 ov), 4-162 (Ajay Jadeja, 40.5 ov), 5-167 (Mohammad Azharuddin, 41.2 ov), 6-190 (Robin Singh, 44.5 ov)
Hasibul Hossain9.223713.96---20
Shafiuddin Ahmed1014024.00---30
Khaled Mahmud903804.22---02
Shariful Haque302107.00---10
Mohammad Rafique1004214.20---10
Aminul Islam501202.40---10
National Stadium, Dhaka
TossIndia, elected to field first
SeriesSilver Jubilee Independence Cup
Player Of The Match
Javagal Srinath
Javagal Srinath
Match numberODI no. 1271
Match daysday (50-over match)
ODI debut
Khaled Mahmud
Khaled Mahmud
Sanwar Hossain
Sanwar Hossain
Shariful Haque
Shariful Haque
New Zealand Image
Doug Cowie
Zimbabwe Image
Russell Tiffin
TV Umpire
South Africa Image
Rudi Koertzen
Match Referee
England Image
Mike Denness
PointsIndia 2, Bangladesh 0
  • Early morning fog delayed the match by 40 minutes. Match will be 48 overs a side.
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions