3rd Final, Dhaka, Jan 18 1998, Silver Jubilee Independence Cup
(47.5/48 ov, target 315)316/7
India won by 3 wickets (with 1 ball remaining)
Player Of The Match
Player Of The Series
Pakistan INNINGS (48 overs maximum)
Saeed Anwar c Azharuddin b Harvinder Singh140132-142106.06
Shahid Afridi c Singh b Harvinder Singh1820-1190.00
Aamer Sohail c †Mongia b Harvinder Singh1417-0182.35
Ijaz Ahmed c Sidhu b Srinath117112-81104.46
Azhar Mahmood c Azharuddin b Tendulkar106-10166.66
Mohammad Hussain not out 22-00100.00
Extras(lb 6, nb 1, w 6)13
TOTAL(48 Ov, RR: 6.54)314/5
Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Shahid Afridi, 5.4 ov), 2-66 (Aamer Sohail, 11.6 ov), 3-296 (Saeed Anwar, 45.4 ov), 4-302 (Ijaz Ahmed, 46.4 ov), 5-314 (Azhar Mahmood, 47.6 ov)
Javagal Srinath1006116.10---20
Harvinder Singh1007437.40---41
Robin Singh804705.87---00
Sourav Ganguly20502.50---00
Hrishikesh Kanitkar603405.66---00
Sachin Tendulkar704917.00---00
Rahul Sanghvi503807.60---00
India INNINGS (target: 315 runs from 48 overs)
Sourav Ganguly  b Aaqib Javed124138-11189.85
Sachin Tendulkar c Azhar Mahmood b Shahid Afridi4126-71157.69
Robin Singh c Aaqib Javed b Mohammad Hussain8283-4298.79
Mohammad Azharuddin (c)c Aamer Sohail b Saqlain Mushtaq411-0036.36
Ajay Jadeja  b Saqlain Mushtaq89-1088.88
Navjot Sidhu lbw b Saqlain Mushtaq54-10125.00
Hrishikesh Kanitkar not out 1112-1091.66
Nayan Mongia run out (†Rashid Latif)96-10150.00
Javagal Srinath not out 53-00166.66
Extras(b 1, lb 11, nb 3, w 12)27
TOTAL(47.5 Ov, RR: 6.60)316/7
Fall of wickets: 1-71 (Sachin Tendulkar, 8.2 ov), 2-250 (Robin Singh, 38.1 ov), 3-268 (Mohammad Azharuddin, 41.2 ov), 4-274 (Sourav Ganguly, 42.4 ov), 5-281 (Navjot Sidhu, 43.2 ov), 6-296 (Ajay Jadeja, 45.4 ov), 7-306 (Nayan Mongia, 46.6 ov)
Aaqib Javed9.206316.75---22
Azhar Mahmood805506.87---31
Shahid Afridi6.405618.40---22
Saqlain Mushtaq9.506636.71---40
Mohammad Hussain1004014.00---00
Manzoor Akhtar402406.00---10
National Stadium, Dhaka
TossIndia, elected to field first
SeriesSilver Jubilee Independence Cup
Player Of The Match
Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly
Player Of The Series
Sachin Tendulkar
Sachin Tendulkar
Series resultIndia won the best-of-3-finals 2-1
Match numberODI no. 1279
Match daysday (50-over match)
ODI debut
Rahul Sanghvi
Rahul Sanghvi
South Africa Image
Rudi Koertzen
Zimbabwe Image
Russell Tiffin
TV Umpire
New Zealand Image
Doug Cowie
Match Referee
England Image
Mike Denness
  • Due to bad light 2 overs reduced from each innings.
  • World record for chasing the largest total to win in an ODI.