Matches (21)
IPL (2)
Inter-Insular (1)
SLCD-XI in ENG (1)
ENG v NZ (1)
County DIV1 (4)
County DIV2 (3)
4-Day Championship (3)
ZIM v NAM (1)
Uganda Women in Nepal (1)
Charlotte Edwards (4)
(17.2/20 ov) 151/3

Wayamba won by 7 wickets (with 16 balls remaining)


Wayamba, Kandurata post easy wins

A round-up of the second day of matches at the Sri Lanka Cricket Inter-Provincial Twenty20

A rollicking opening stand between Thilan Samaraweera and Rumesh Buddika set up defending champion Wayamba's seven-wicket victory over Ruhuna at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Ruhuna chose to bat and made 150 for 7 on the back of Dinesh Chandimal's 88, which came from just 57 balls and contained nine fours and two sixes. Samaraweera and Buddika set about the chase in earnest, adding 119 in 12 overs before they were separated. Both openers made 57, with Buddika scoring marginally quicker, needing 36 balls to Samaraweera's 39. Comfortably ahead of the required run-rate by then, Wayamba coasted home with 16 balls to spare.
Kandurata cantered to a ten-wicket win over Combined Provinces in game reduced to nine-overs-a-side by rain. Put in to bat, Combined Provinces were immediately in trouble as Muttiah Muralitharan struck twice in the first over, and it was only thanks to a quickfire 27 from Chaturanga de Silva that they managed 61 for 8. Kandurata openers Kumar Sangakkara and Tharanga Paranavitana chased that total down in just 6.4 overs, as Sangakkara smashed 37 from 19 balls.

Wayamba Innings
<1 / 3>
Sri Lanka Cricket Inter-Provincial Twenty20 Tournament