Matches (12)
ENG v SA (1)
RL Cup (7)
Women's Hundred (1)
Men's Hundred (1)
WI v NZ (1)
ZIM v IND (1)
1st T20I (N), Wellington, December 22, 2006, Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand
(5.5/5.5 ov, T:45) 62/1

Sri Lanka won by 18 runs (D/L method)

Player Of The Match
51* (23) & 3/21
New Zealand INNINGS (20 overs maximum)
Brendon McCullum c Tharanga b Muralidaran39223324177.27
Stephen Fleming (c) b Maharoof38242960158.33
James Franklin lbw b Jayasuriya18151721120.00
Ross Taylor lbw b Muralidaran21212520100.00
Nathan Astle  b Jayasuriya19132111146.15
James Marshall c Silva b Jayasuriya1430025.00
Peter McGlashan st †Sangakkara b Silva512110041.66
Andre Adams not out 65900120.00
Shane Bond  b Vaas021000.00
Mark Gillespie not out 32100150.00
Extras(lb 8, w 4)12
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.10, 79 Mts)162/8
Did not bat: Jeetan Patel 
Fall of wickets: 1-80 (Stephen Fleming, 7.2 ov), 2-82 (Brendon McCullum, 8.1 ov), 3-107 (James Franklin, 11.4 ov), 4-131 (Ross Taylor, 14.4 ov), 5-135 (James Marshall, 15.4 ov), 6-150 (Nathan Astle, 17.3 ov), 7-156 (Peter McGlashan, 18.6 ov), 8-159 (Shane Bond, 19.4 ov)
Chaminda Vaas402817.00101100
19.4 to SE Bond, you miss I hit! change in pace from Vaas, rolls his fingers over the ball, bowls it full and straight, Bond tries to make room and hit it to the offside, misses it and the ball hits the base of the middle stump. 159/8
Farveez Maharoof3030110.0085100
7.2 to SP Fleming, bowled 'em! Slower ball on a good length on middle and off, Fleming doesnt expect it to come on that slowly, swings across the line and gets beaten all ends up and his furniture is disturbed! Maharoof gets the crucial breakthrough, but what a start from New Zealand. 80/1
Dilhara Fernando3036012.0045100
Muthiah Muralidaran402726.75131220
8.1 to BB McCullum, and he's gone! Tossed up outside off stump, McCullum sweeps from where it landed and can only slog it out to Tharanga at deep midwicket, who pouches a simple catch into his lap, Murali gets his revenge. 82/2
14.4 to LRPL Taylor, and again, but this time its out! goes for a slog sweep, misses the ball again, the difference this time is he is hit in front of the off stump, and the umpire reckons it would have crashed into ths stumps. That's out!. 131/4
Sanath Jayasuriya402135.25110110
11.4 to JEC Franklin, and now there's the wicket!!! its a flat delivery, fired in, Franklin tries his hand at the reverse sweep, misses the ball and is rapped in front - LBWs dont come any easier for the umpires!. 107/3
15.4 to JAH Marshall, and thats another wicket. tossed up delivery, its driven off the backfoot, comes off the inner half, its spooned up in the air at mid wicket, Chamara Silva times his jump to perfection, can't get it the first time, but grabs it on the second attempt. That's another NZ batsman walking back. 135/5
17.3 to NJ Astle, and now Jayasuriya gets his revenge, its fired in on leg stump and Astle tries the same shot as the previous ball, misses the line and the ball crashes into leg stump - sound of timber as they say, and Astle's short innings comes to an end. 150/6
Mahela Jayawardene10808.0011000
Chamara Silva10414.0020000
18.6 to PD McGlashan, cross batted heave again, McGlashan misses the ball and loses balance, steps out and is found wanting by some quick glovework from Sangakkara who gathers the ball neatly and whips off the bails - no need to refer it to the TV Umpire there, its out!. 156/7
Sri Lanka INNINGS (Target: 45 runs from 5.5 overs)
Upul Tharanga c Fleming b Bond610150060.00
Sanath Jayasuriya not out 512323101221.73
Mahela Jayawardene (c)not out 22700100.00
Extras(lb 1, w 2)3
TOTAL5.5 Ov (RR: 10.62, 23 Mts)62/1
Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Upul Tharanga, 4.1 ov)
Shane Bond302418.0074010
4.1 to WU Tharanga, gone! Short and wide, and all he can do is slash it straight to Fleming at a wide gully, who puts the hands up and takes it above his head. 36/1
James Franklin201909.5053010
Andre Adams0.5018021.6013100
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
TossNew Zealand, elected to bat first
Player Of The Match
Sri Lanka
Sanath Jayasuriya
Series resultSri Lanka led the 2-match series 1-0
Match numberT20I no. 11
Hours of play (local time)19.00 start, First Session 19.00-20.20 Interval 20.20-20.40, Second Session 20.40-22.00
Match days22 December 2006 - night (20-over match)
T20I debut
Chamara Silva
Chamara Silva
Chaminda Vaas
Chaminda Vaas
Mark Gillespie
Mark Gillespie
Marvan Atapattu
Marvan Atapattu
Muthiah Muralidaran
Muthiah Muralidaran
Peter McGlashan
Peter McGlashan
Ross Taylor
Ross Taylor
New Zealand
Evan Watkin
New Zealand
Tony Hill
TV Umpire
New Zealand
Gary Baxter
Reserve Umpire
New Zealand
Robert Anderson
Match Referee
Javagal Srinath
  • New Zealand innings
  • New Zealand: 50 runs in 4.3 overs (27 balls), Extras 4
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 27 balls (BB McCullum 23, SP Fleming 24, Ex 4)
  • New Zealand: 100 runs in 9.4 overs (59 balls), Extras 6
  • New Zealand: 150 runs in 17.2 overs (107 balls), Extras 11
  • Sri Lanka innings
  • Sri Lanka: 50 runs in 5.3 overs (35 balls), Extras 3
  • Rain: Sri Lanka - 62/1 in 5.5 overs (ST Jayasuriya 51, DPMD Jayawardene 2)
  • ST Jayasuriya: 50 off 23 balls (10 x 4, 1 x 6)
  • D/L Version Used: 7.0
  • Twenty20 International Scorer: Gautham
  • Match abandoned after 5.5 overs
  • Par Score (5.5 overs, 1 wicket lost): 44
  • Twenty20 International Commentators: Arun Gopalakrishnan and Jamie Alter