2nd T20I, Auckland, December 26, 2006, Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand
(18.3/20 ov, T:116) 116/5

New Zealand won by 5 wickets (with 9 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match
Sri Lanka Innings
New Zealand Innings
Match Flow
Sri Lanka  (20 ovs maximum)
Upul Tharanga  b Franklin031000.00
Chamara Kapugedera c Franklin b Mason12121811100.00
Mahela Jayawardene (c)c Patel b Franklin971310128.57
Kumar Sangakkara c †McGlashan b Adams1317232076.47
Marvan Atapattu c Fulton b Franklin58110062.50
Tillakaratne Dilshan run out (Fulton/†McGlashan)310150030.00
Chamara Silva c †McGlashan b Adams1219230063.15
Malinga Bandara c Taylor b Gillespie1240050.00
Lasith Malinga  b Patel27192522142.10
Dilhara Fernando c Adams b Astle21141440150.00
Ruchira Perera not out 00100-
Extras(lb 2, nb 1, w 9)12
TOTAL18.2 Ov (RR: 6.27, 77 Mins)115
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Upul Tharanga, 0.3 ov), 2-24 (Mahela Jayawardene, 2.5 ov), 3-26 (Chamara Kapugedera, 3.4 ov), 4-44 (Marvan Atapattu, 6.6 ov), 5-51 (Kumar Sangakkara, 8.2 ov), 6-58 (Tillakaratne Dilshan, 10.3 ov), 7-61 (Malinga Bandara, 11.4 ov), 8-71 (Chamara Silva, 14.1 ov), 9-115 (Dilhara Fernando, 17.6 ov), 10-115 (Lasith Malinga, 18.2 ov)
James Franklin402335.75121101
0.3 to WU Tharanga, gets the inside edge onto the wicket, as he was looking for the cut through the off side. 0/1
2.5 to DPMD Jayawardene, Captain goes, it was fuller outside the off stump, looking to drive through the off side, mishits it straight to Patel at cover, could not get it in the air over the fielder. 24/2
6.6 to MS Atapattu, gone! Short of a length delivery on the stumps, Atapattu goes on the backfoot and pulls it away, but can only find the man out in the deep!. 44/4
Michael Mason301916.33123030
3.4 to CK Kapugedera, caught at thirdman, uses his feet and mishits it high in the air to the right of thirdman, where Franklin runs, slides and takes a very good catch. 26/3
Mark Gillespie3.101314.10120010
11.4 to HMCM Bandara, good catch! Banged in short and wide outside off stump, the width was there to go after the stroke, but all Bandara can do is hop up and cut that in the air to point, where Taylor times his jump to perfection and holds a good catch above his head. 61/7
Andre Adams402025.00143010
8.2 to KC Sangakkara, thats out! A good moving delivery slants past the left-hander, and Sangakkara drives loosely, getting a thin edge through to McGlashan, and Sri Lanka are now 55 for 5!. 51/5
14.1 to LPC Silva, gone! Shortish delivery outside off stump, Silva decides to go for the pull, doesnt time it well, and ends up with a bottom-edge straight to the 'keeper. 71/8
Nathan Astle2.5030110.5842200
17.6 to CRD Fernando, all over! Full toss on the stumps, Fernando heaves it on the leg side, it goes high over the infield, but lands smack in Adams's hands at the deep mid-wicket boundary. 115/9
Jeetan Patel1.20816.0041000
18.2 to SL Malinga, thats that! Tossed up on middle and leg, Malinga looks to slam that over the off side, misses, and the ball hits the top of leg stump!. 115/10
New Zealand  (T: 116 runs from 20 ovs)
Brendon McCullum run out (Kapugedera/†Sangakkara)28284060100.00
Stephen Fleming (c)c Kapugedera b Fernando17162740106.25
Ross Taylor run out (Bandara/Dilshan)4790057.14
Nathan Astle not out 40374241108.10
Peter Fulton  b Fernando14131311107.69
Peter McGlashan c Dilshan b Fernando2460050.00
James Franklin not out 36190050.00
Extras(b 4, lb 1, w 3)8
TOTAL18.3 Ov (RR: 6.27, 80 Mins)116/5
Fall of wickets: 1-51 (Stephen Fleming, 5.5 ov), 2-56 (Ross Taylor, 8.2 ov), 3-57 (Brendon McCullum, 8.6 ov), 4-82 (Peter Fulton, 12.6 ov), 5-86 (Peter McGlashan, 14.4 ov)
Lasith Malinga301505.00143010
Ruchira Perera4049012.2578120
Dilhara Fernando401934.75162100
5.5 to SP Fleming, gone! A good length delivery outside off stump and Fleming goes for an expansive drive, was a bit late on the shot, and ends up skies skying it over point and Kapugedera takes a well-judged catch out in the deep. 51/1
12.6 to PG Fulton, gone! Full and swinging into him, Fulton doesnt pick it well and has an ugly swipe across the line, eyes not on the ball at all, and his stumps are re-arranged, Sri Lanka strike again!. 82/4
14.4 to PD McGlashan, another one bites the dust! Simple catch! Banged in short outside off stump, McGlashan is taken by suprise and defends loosely on the hop, the ball takes the shoulder of the bat and loops up in the air, and all point has to do is take a few steps forward and accept the easiest of chances. 86/5
Tillakaratne Dilshan3.30802.28140000
Malinga Bandara402005.00112000
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
  • Sri Lanka innings
  • Sri Lanka: 50 runs in 35 mins (51 balls), Extras 11
  • Gillespie injured his leg in the run-up to the second delivery of his fourth over, did not bowl the ball, and left the field. JAH Marshall on as substitute fielder - over completed by NJ Astle
  • Sri Lanka: 100 runs in 68 mins (102 balls), Extras 12
  • New Zealand innings
  • New Zealand: 50 runs in 26 mins (37 balls), Extras 8
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 37 balls (BB McCullum 26, SP Fleming 17, Ex 8)
  • New Zealand: 100 runs in 72 mins (105 balls), Extras 8
  • Twenty20 International scorer: Binoy George
Eden Park, Auckland
TossNew Zealand, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
New Zealand
James Franklin
Series result2-match series drawn 1-1
Match numberT20I no. 12
Hours of play (local time)14.00 start, First Session 14.00-15.20 Interval 15.20-15.40, Second Session 15.40-17.00
Match days26 December 2006 - day (20-over match)
T20I debut
Michael Mason
Michael Mason
Malinga Bandara
Malinga Bandara
TV Umpire
Reserve Umpire
Match Referee
New Zealand Innings
<1 / 3>