Southern Express 161 for 8 (Mubarak 34, Gunaratne 3-19, Mendis 3-27) beat Udarata Rulers 157 for 9 (Tharanga 62, Jayasuriya 51, Pathirana 3-27) by four runs
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Allrounder Sachith Pathirana grabbed three wickets in four balls as Udarata Rulers lost four batsmen in a dramatic last over to fall five runs short of the target of 162 in the final against Southern Express after an opening stand of 95. Rulers needed eight runs going into the final over with five wickets in hand, but Pathirana conceded only three, one of them from a wide.

The wide was the first delivery of the over. Milinda Siriwardana was caught by Jehan Mubarak for a golden duck next ball. Asela Gunaratne was stumped off the second legitimate ball before Nuwan Kulasekara managed to get a single off the third. Pathirana struck once more off the fourth ball, having Dilhara Lokuhettige caught for another golden duck. Kulasekara could squeeze only a single off the penultimate delivery. With at least a four needed off the final ball, Kulasekara was run out. A day ago, Pathirana had taken 4 for 17 bowling at the death in the eliminator against Western Troopers.

Rulers appeared to be running away with the match when Shehan Jayasuriya and Upul Tharanga rustled up 95 at the top of the order in just over ten overs. Jayasuriya made 51 off 37 while Tharanga cracked 62 off 37. Rulers needed 67 from 59 when the latter fell to Danushka Gunathilaka.

Kumar Sangakkara could not do much but when he departed, Rulers needed 34 off 36 and still had Jayasuriya. Lasith Malinga gave away just two in the 15th, and Jayasuriya fell to Dilruwan Perera off the first ball of the 16th.

Chamara Silva hit Kasun Madushanka for six off the last ball of the 18th to bring it down to 11 needed off 12. But Malinga bowled another tight over, which went for only three, and Pathirana stepped up after that.

Express' total of 161 for 8 was set up by contributions from the top order before Gunathilaka and Pathirana took 28 off the last two overs. Gunaratne and Ajantha Mendis took three wickets each.