1st SF (D/N), Kolkata, Mar 13 1996, Wills World Cup
(34.1/50 ov, target 252)120/8
Sri Lanka won by default
Player Of The Match
66 (47) & 1/3
Sri Lanka INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Sanath Jayasuriya c Prasad b Srinath1340033.33
Romesh Kaluwitharana c Manjrekar b Srinath011000.00
Asanka Gurusinha c Kumble b Srinath11629006.25
Aravinda de Silva  b Kumble664763140140.42
Roshan Mahanama retired hurt 581011266057.42
Arjuna Ranatunga (c)lbw b Tendulkar3542724083.33
Hashan Tillakaratne c Tendulkar b Prasad3243511074.41
Kumar Dharmasena  b Tendulkar920210045.00
Chaminda Vaas run out (Azharuddin)23161930143.75
Pramodya Wickramasinghe not out 49100044.44
Muthiah Muralidaran not out 54400125.00
Extras(b 1, lb 10, nb 2, w 4)17
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 5.01)251/8
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Romesh Kaluwitharana), 2-1 (Sanath Jayasuriya), 3-35 (Asanka Gurusinha), 4-85 (Aravinda de Silva), 5-168 (Arjuna Ranatunga), 5-182* (Roshan Mahanama, retired hurt), 6-206 (Kumar Dharmasena), 7-236 (Hashan Tillakaratne), 8-244 (Chaminda Vaas)
Javagal Srinath713434.85---00
Anil Kumble1005115.09---10
Venkatesh Prasad805016.25---22
Aashish Kapoor1004004.00---00
Ajay Jadeja503106.20---00
Sachin Tendulkar1013423.40---10
India INNINGS (target: 252 runs from 50 overs)
Sachin Tendulkar st †Kaluwitharana b Jayasuriya6588969073.86
Navjot Sidhu c Jayasuriya b Vaas3870037.50
Sanjay Manjrekar  b Jayasuriya25481051052.08
Mohammad Azharuddin (c)c & b Dharmasena063000.00
Vinod Kambli not out 1029490034.48
Javagal Srinath run out 66810100.00
Ajay Jadeja  b Jayasuriya0119000.00
Nayan Mongia c Jayasuriya b de Silva18100012.50
Aashish Kapoor c de Silva b Muralitharan011000.00
Anil Kumble not out 00100-
Extras(lb 5, w 5)10
TOTAL(34.1 Ov, RR: 3.51)120/8
Did not bat: Venkatesh Prasad 
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Navjot Sidhu), 2-98 (Sachin Tendulkar), 3-99 (Mohammad Azharuddin), 4-101 (Sanjay Manjrekar), 5-110 (Javagal Srinath), 6-115 (Ajay Jadeja), 7-120 (Nayan Mongia), 8-120 (Aashish Kapoor)
Pramodya Wickramasinghe502404.80---20
Chaminda Vaas612313.83---00
Muthiah Muralidaran7.102914.04---10
Kumar Dharmasena702413.42---00
Sanath Jayasuriya711231.71---10
Aravinda de Silva20311.50---10
Eden Gardens, Calcutta
TossIndia, elected to field first
SeriesWills World Cup
Player Of The Match
Aravinda de Silva
Aravinda de Silva
Series resultSri Lanka advanced
Match numberODI no. 1081
Match daysdaynight (50-over match)
South Africa Image
Cyril Mitchley
New Zealand Image
Steve Dunne
TV Umpire
Pakistan Image
Mahboob Shah
Match Referee
West Indies Image
Clive Lloyd
  • Sri Lanka's 1st ever World Cup semi final.
  • RS Mahanama retired hurt at 182/5 (37.2 overs) (leg injury)
  • At the fall of the 8th Indian wicket, sections of the crowd vented their disgust with the state of the match by setting fire to some areas of the stands and throwing fruit and waterbottles onto the field. The match was briefly stopped and when play was about to resume, the crowd again threw bottles at the deep fielders. The match referee stopped the game and the game was awarded to Sri Lanka by default.
  • 4th win for the team batting first from 5 matches under lights at Eden Gardens.
  • Sri Lanka qualify for their 1st ever World Cup final.