Matches (17)
WPL (2)
PSL 2024 (2)
AFG v IRE (1)
Nepal Tri-Nation (2)
Ranji Trophy (4)
Durham in ZIM (1)
BPL 2024 (1)
CWC Play-off (3)
WCL 2 (1)

CSA Members' Council and sports minister Nathi Mthethwa have 'constructive' meeting

An interim CSA board will be now be constituted, with further details expected by the end of the week

Firdose Moonda
Firdose Moonda
Gallo Images/Getty Images

Gallo Images/Getty Images

The CSA's Members' Council - the highest-decision making authority in the game made up of the 14 provincial affiliate presidents - and South Africa's sports minister Nathi Mthethwa held a "constructive" meeting on Tuesday, which was the deadline for the organisation to convince Mthethwa why he should not intervene in their affairs.
Mthethwa was satisfied with the progress made at CSA after the entire board stood down on Monday. An interim board will be now be constituted, with further details expected by the end of the week.
Mthethwa also met with the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC), who CSA has previously refused to comply with, as well as the South African Cricketers Association (SACA) to "share the outcomes of the meeting with CSA for the purpose of keeping key role players abreast of the latest developments," according to a ministerial statement issued on Wednesday morning.
It is not clear if CSA will now work with SASCOC, who demanded the board and executive stand down while an investigation is conducted into CSA's affairs and unrestricted access to the forensic report used to fire former CEO Thabang Moroe. SASCOC also wanted CSA to foot the bill for a task team that would stand in for the organisation's leadership while issues around governance are resolved. This team could now take the structure of an interim board.
ESPNcricinfo understands that the minister will be involved in the process of choosing the members of the interim board, which could include prominent South Africans in business and former players. For now, CSA is represented by a board of four Members' Council participants - Rihan Richards (who is also the acting Members Council president), Zola Thamae, John Mogodi and Donovan May. Thamae, Mogodi and May were all part of the board that stood down.

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo's South Africa correspondent