Matches (16)
Women's Asia Cup (2)
WCL 2 (1)
MLC (2)
Women's Hundred (2)
Men's Hundred (2)
TNPL (2)
One-Day Cup (5)

Defending champions Royals add Chamari Athapaththu for Women's CPL 2024

They have also retained last year's captain Matthews and legspinner Wellington while adding wicketkeeper-batter Redmayne

Chamari Athapaththu shapes up for a pull, Sri Lanka vs West Indies, 2nd women's T20I, Hambantota, June 26, 2024

Chamari Athapaththu has been in top form this year  •  SLC

Defending Women's Caribbean Premier League [WCPL] champions Barbados Royals have strengthened by adding Sri Lanka superstar Chamari Athapaththu to their side for the 2024 season. Australia wicketkeeper-batter Georgia Redmayne will also turn out for Royals this year.
Royals have also retained allrounder Hayley Matthews and legspinner Amanda-Jade Wellington from the title-winning squad of last year. Additionally, they are also bringing back Australia batter Laura Harris along with Chinelle Henry, Afy Fletcher, Aaliyah Alleyne and Qiana Joseph from the 2023 squad for the new season.
There are six more spots left to be filled and these players will be selected at the WCPL draft which takes place later in July.
Matthews had captained Royals to glory last season and finished with the second-highest runs in the competition: 191 in five matches with a strike rate of 132.63. She was also the joint third-highest wicket-taker with seven at an economy rate of 7.44. Her most telling contribution came in the final against Guyana Amazon Warriors when she scored 82 off 59 balls and picked two wickets.
Wellington, meanwhile, finished as the second highest wicket-taker in 2023 with eight in five games at an economy of 4.80.
In Athapaththu, Royals have a solid top-order batter and offspinner. In 12 T20Is this year, she has scored 371 runs which includes a 102 against Scotland. Athapaththu has also picked up 13 wickets with a best of 4 for 29 against West Indies last month.
The WCPL this year will be staged in Trinidad from August 21 to 29, with the Brian Lara Cricket Academy hosting all seven games. Trinbago Knight Riders, Amazon Warriors and Royals are the three teams taking part.

Barbados Royals squad so far

Hayley Matthews, Chamari Athapaththu , Amanda-Jade Wellington, Laura Harris, Georgia Redmayne, Chinelle Henry, Afy Fletcher, Aaliyah Alleyne, Qiana Joseph