DPL: Dhanmondi top first phase, Naeem and Anamul cross 700 runs

A round-up of the fourth week of matches, which included Mohammedan nearly falling into the relegation zone

Mohammad Isam
Mohammad Isam
Anamul Haque has scored 728 runs in 10 matches in the DPL 2022  •  BCB

Anamul Haque has scored 728 runs in 10 matches in the DPL 2022  •  BCB

Key takeaways
Defending champions Abahani Limited crossed a difficult last week by beating Prime Bank Cricket Club and Gazi Group Cricketers but went down to Sheikh Jamal, the team in form. But to everyone's surprise, Rupganj Tigers made it to the top six, despite earning promotion only this season.
That Mohammedan Sporting Club missed out on a Super League place is also big, especially after they spent heavily on international stars. There were elements of drama when Mahmudullah snapped at a groundsman for the lack of bounce at the Shere Bangla National Stadium pitch and later kicked the dressing room glass door. This was the game when they slipped to ninth place after a seven-wicket defeat against Rupganj Tigers.
Meanwhile, the Super League line-up has now been finalised with Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club topping the table, with nine wins out of ten matches in the first phase.
Best batters
Legends of Rupganj's Naeem Islam and Prime Bank's Anamul Haque became the first batters to cross 700 runs in the DPL's first phase. The next highest is Zakir Hasan's 487 but all three of these batters struck two hundreds each.
Amite Hasan, 20, was one of the impressive uncapped youngsters, with 465 runs at an average of 58.12, which included three half-centuries and a century. But his side, Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity, is fighting for survival after finishing at the bottom of the points table.
Rupganj's Chirag Jani also finished as the highest run-getter among overseas players, having scored 435 runs at an average of 48.33 average, followed by Sikandar Raza's 425 runs at an average of 47.22. Both of them scored a hundred each.
Best bowlers
Dhanmondi's Parvez Rasool was the highest wicket-taker in the first phase, with 20 scalps at 13.25, including a five-for against Abahani. Jani was perhaps the best allrounder in this phase, as he took 18 wickets to go with his 435 runs.
Young left-arm spinner Rakibul Hasan, playing for Prime Bank, took 19 wickets at 22.36, while Masum Khan and Qazi Onik took 17 wickets each, among the Bangladeshi fast bowlers.
Best match
Abahani's one-run win over Gazi Group was a last-ball thriller. Tanzim Hasan Sakib went for 89 runs in his nine overs, but his dipping yorker prevented Husne Habib from hitting the last ball for four, and he ended up with just two runs. Abahani had earlier reached 311 for seven, courtesy Jaker Ali's quickfire 109, before Al-Amin and Akbar Ali fought back with the bat for Gazi Group. But in the end, Abahani snuck home with the barest of margins, ensuring a top-two finish.
Points to ponder
One out of Khelaghar, City Club and Brothers Union will be relegated to Dhaka First Division Cricket League next season. Khelaghar have won just one game while Brothers Union and City Club have three wins each, which will help them finish ahead of Khelaghar in the play-off.
Mohammedan's downfall is more intriguing this season. Even their traditionally strong fanbase was unable to push their team to get into more points.
Players to watch
Aminul Islam is known for his legspin. While he took just six wickets for Brothers Union, he was impressive with the bat as well. Left-arm quick Mrittunjoy Chowdhury also took vital wickets for Sheikh Jamal, while Akbar's first foray as a DPL captain went well, particularly as a keeper-batter.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84