Ricky Ponting has been picked to lead the World ODI team of the year by a selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd. The team was announced during the ICC Awards in Bangalore on Wednesday. Ponting has been given this honour for the second time at these awards - he was also named captain in 2008. India captain MS Dhoni has been picked as wicketkeeper for the third straight year.
The XI includes five players from Australia, two from India, two from England, plus Daniel Vettori and AB de Villiers - the sole representatives from New Zealand and South Africa.
Lloyd, the chairman of the panel, said: "It was a very difficult task in selecting this year's ODI team but looking at the line-up I feel it has great balance and depth. It would be a tough team for anyone to beat."
Lloyd was joined on the panel by former Australia batsman Matthew Hayden, former England bowler Angus Fraser, former Zimbabwe player and England coach Duncan Fletcher and former India allrounder Ravi Shastri.
ODI team of the year: Sachin Tendulkar (India), Shane Watson (Australia), Michael Hussey (Australia), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Paul Collingwood (England), Ricky Ponting (capt, Australia), MS Dhoni (wk, India), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Stuart Broad (England), Doug Bollinger (Australia), Ryan Harris (Australia).