Kohli the highest-paid cricketer in IPL

Virat Kohli is the highest-paid cricketer in the IPL, according to salary figures released by the league on Friday

Virat Kohli attempts a run out,  Chennai Super Kings v Royal Challengers Bangalore, IPL 2015, Chennai, May 4, 2015

Royal Challengers Bangalore will pay Virat Kohli Rs 15 crore (approximately USD 2.26 million), a bigger amount than the Rs 12.5 crore (USD 1.89 million) that will be deducted from their salary purse  •  BCCI

Virat Kohli is the highest-paid cricketer in the IPL, according to salary figures released by the league on Friday.
While Kohli will cost his franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore Rs 12.5 crore (approximately USD 1.89 million) from their salary purse, they will actually pay him Rs 15 crore (USD 2.26 million). MS Dhoni, for long believed to be the most expensive IPL cricketer, will be paid USD 1.89 million, which is equal to his purse deduction, by the Pune franchise. Pune secured Dhoni in a draft of players who were part of the suspended Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals franchises.
Apart from Royal Challengers, who are paying Kohli and Chris Gayle more than the purse deduction, Mumbai Indians are paying Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga and Ambati Rayudu more than the purse deduction they result in.
However, contrary to the general perception that quite a few players used to get paid much more than the official purse deduction, quite a few have actually taken big cuts. Manan Vohra, retained by Kings XI Punjab, will get less than 10% of his Rs 4 crore (USD 600,000) purse deduction. Rohit Sharma, Gautam Gambhir and David Miller are among those getting paid less than the purse deduction they are responsible for.
Each franchise is required to spend a minimum of Rs 40 crore (USD 6 million) but not more than Rs 66 crore (USD 9.96 million) on their squad. However, when the franchise retains players, the purse-deduction slots are what are considered for the purpose of calculation of what it can and should spend.
Kings XI are thus keen on saving money; after negotiating the salary with Vohra, they can actually spend far less than USD 600,000 on him. However, they will still lose USD 600,000 from their purse ahead of the auction. Royal Challengers, on the other hand, don't seem to mind spending extra.
In the case of former Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals players, though, the new franchises didn't have any room to negotiate. The BCCI had assured the players left without teams but drafted by the two new teams they would be paid the same amount as they were earning earlier. So while Ravindra Jadeja might take away Rs 9.5 crore (USD 1.43 million) from Rajkot's purse, he will actually get only Rs 5.5 crore (USD 0.83 million).
Actual Salary details of retained players
Sr. No Team Player Country Purse Deduction (INR) Actual Salary (INR)
 1  KXIP  David Miller  South Africa  12,50,00,000  5,00,00,000
 2  KXIP  Manan Vohra  India  4,00,00,000  35,00,000
 3  KKR  Gautam Gambhir  India  12,50,00,000  10,00,00,000
 4  KKR  Sunil Narine  West Indies  9,50,00,000  8,00,00,000
 5  MI  Rohit Sharma  India  12,50,00,000  11,50,00,002
 6  MI  Kieron Pollard  West Indies  9,50,00,000  9,70,00,000
 7  MI  Lasith Malinga  Sri Lanka  7,50,00,000  8,10,00,000
 8  MI  Harbhajan Singh  India  5,50,00,000  8,00,00,000
 9  MI  Ambati Rayudu  India  4,00,00,000  6,00,00,000
 10  RCB  Virat Kohli  India  12,50,00,000  15,00,00,000
 11  RCB  AB de Villers  South Africa  9,50,00,000  9,50,00,000
 12  RCB  Chris Gayle  West Indies  7,50,00,000  8,40,00,000
 13  SRH  Shikhar Dhawan  India  12,50,00,000  12,50,00,000
 14  Team Pune  MS Dhoni  India  12,50,00,000  12,50,00,000
 15  Team Pune  Ajinkya Rahane  India  9,50,00,000  8,00,00,000
 16  Team Pune  R Ashwin  India  7,50,00,000  7,50,00,000
 17  Team Pune  Steven  Smith  Australia  5,50,00,000  4,00,00,000
 18  Team Pune  Faf du Plessis  South Africa  4,00,00,000  4,75,00,000
 19  Team Rajkot  Suresh Raina  India  12,50,00,000  9,50,00,000
 20  Team Rajkot  Ravindra Jadeja  India  9,50,00,000  5,50,00,000
 21  Team Rajkot  Brendon McCullum  New Zealand  7,50,00,000  3,25,00,000
 22  Team Rajkot  James Faulkner  Australia  5,50,00,000  5,10,00,000
 22  Team Rajkot  Dwayne Bravo  West Indies  4,00,00,000  4,00,00,000