Matches (15)
ENG v PAK (W) (1)
T20WC Warm-up (6)
ENG v PAK (1)
Vitality Blast (5)
CE Cup (2)

MI New York unveil Rashid, Boult and Rabada in star-studded MLC squad

Pollard to captain MI squad that also features David and Brevis

Rashid Khan celebrates a wicket, MI Cape Town vs Joburg Super Kings, SA20, Cape Town, January 14, 2023

Rashid Khan celebrates a wicket  •  SA20

MI New York have announced a star-studded bowling group for the upcoming MLC 2023 competition with Rashid Khan, Trent Boult and Kagiso Rabada all part of the squad. They have also signed up Nicholas Pooran, Tim David, Dewald Brevis and Jason Behrendorff for the three-week tournament in Dallas. To round off their overseas contingent, Kieron Pollard is the captain while David Wiese is the other allrounder.
This will be the second team under the MI franchise for Rashid and Rabada, having previously represented MI Cape Town in the SA20. Pooran and Boult will also extend their relationship with the MI group, having previously played for MI Emirates in the ILT20 event in the UAE. For David and Brevis, this will be the third MI franchise (apart from the IPL and SA20).
Former South Africa international Robin Peterson has been named head coach while former Mumbai Indians seamer Lasith Malinga will be bowling coach. J Arunkumar and James Pamment will be the batting and fielding coaches respectively.
"It is an extraordinary line-up of youth, experience, and power," Akash Ambani, owner of Mumbai Indians, said in a statement. "Further, we have exciting talent in the form of Tim David and Brevis, while Jason Behrendorff and David Wiese are proven performers. Combined with the exceptional skills of our local US players, we are confident that MI New York will raise the bar of competition in the cricket ecosystem of the US."
At a draft held in March, the New York franchise had selected current USA captain Monank Patel and former USA captain Steven Taylor. Also drafted in - among others - were allrounder Nosthush Kenjige, wicketkeeper Shayan Jahangir and fast bowler Kyle Phillip.
The six-team MLC begins on July 13. On Tuesday, the LA Knight Riders announced Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy and Lockie Ferguson as their marquee overseas players for the competition.