Bavuma, Hendricks, Pretorius out of Pakistan T20Is

ODI squad members such as Markram, Phehlukwayo, Dupavillon and Mulder have been called up as cover

Temba Bavuma at a training session, Pretoria, March 30, 2021

Temba Bavuma would have captained South Africa for the first time in T20I cricket on April 10 if he hadn't been injured  •  Getty Images

Temba Bavuma will have to wait a little longer to lead South Africa in the shortest format after he was officially ruled out of the upcoming four-match T20I series against Pakistan due to a hamstring injury. Heinrich Klaasen will lead South Africa in Bavuma's absence.
Bavuma, who was appointed the limited-overs captain last month, picked up the injury during the third and deciding ODI against Pakistan on Wednesday and even then the signs were that he wouldn't be able to make it back on the park. After the series decider, South Africa head coach Mark Boucher had said, "Temba is a tough guy so when you see him hobbling around and it's only got worse in the change room, the way he is walking, I think he might have done something fairly bad." Since then it has been diagnosed that he has a grade one hamstring strain and that he needs rest and recovery.
South Africa will also have to make do without opener Reeza Hendricks, who has withdrawn from the series following the birth of his first child on Tuesday. Aiden Markram, who batted at the top of the order in the ODIs, has been drafted in as cover.
Bowling allrounder Dwaine Pretorius' rib injury has not cleared up well enough to allow his participation in this T20I series, which begins on Saturday, so he, too, has been taken out of the squad. Andile Phehlukwayo and Wiaan Mulder have been called up to offer the team more options. From their ODI squad, South Africa have also asked fast bowler Daryn Dupavillon to remain with them as they head into the T20I series opener in Johannesburg.
Rassie van der Dussen, who missed the third ODI against Pakistan due to a quadriceps strain, remains part of the T20I set-up as well and will continue to be monitored by the medical staff.
South Africa T20I squad: Heinrich Klaasen (capt & wk), Bjorn Fortuin, Aiden Markram, Andile Phehlukwayo, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Rassie van der Dussen, Janneman Malan, Sisanda Magala, Wiaan Mulder, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Kyle Verreynne, Pite van Biljon, Daryn Dupavillon, Migael Pretorius, Lizaad Williams, Wihan Lubbe.