The celebration
Batsmen usually reserve their celebrations for centuries and not fifties, but it has been a special year for Sarfraz Ahmed. All his five Test scores of fifty-plus have come in 2014. Tonight, he brought up his maiden ODI half-century to follow up on the 34 he made in the first ODI after being promoted from the lower middle order to open in this series. After he ran a couple off Kane Richardson to bring up the landmark, Sarfraz roared, beamed, took off his helmet and soaked in the applause from the crowd and the dressing room, with coach Waqar Younis nodding and clapping in appreciation.

The double-jump catch
Captains usually don't have a slip in the 44th over of an ODI innings but Pakistan's collapse had allowed George Bailey to attack more. When Shahid Afridi edged a slog off Mitchell Johnson, Steven Smith was in the position as the ball threatened to fly over him. Smith reached it with a jump and hands stretched over his head, only to parry it to his left. Even as the wicketkeeper Brad Haddin pondered whether to go for the rebound, Smith came down from the first jump, leaped again in the direction of the ball, and landed with it safely in his grasp.

The run-out
Mohammad Irfan got to face his first delivery in the last over of the Pakistan innings, and poked and missed one from Richardson. Fawad Alam wanted the strike and ran. Irfan realised too late that he too, would have to do the same. Irfan could not pick up any pace, though. The keeper lobbed the ball to Richardson, who was standing halfway between the two ends. Even though he was so far away, Richardson had enough time to trot towards the non-striker's end and lob the ball onto the stumps. Irfan lumbered in after what seemed like an age.

The overrule
In the 22nd over of the chase, Pakistan appealed for caught behind against George Bailey off Zulfiqar Babar, and got the decision in their favour. Bailey reviewed. Replays showed the bat had hit the ground some time after the ball had passed the outside edge. In the absence of Snicko or HotSpot, there was no conclusive evidence on the replay alone that ball had not touched bat. The on-field umpire's decision stays in such a case but third umpire Richard Illingworth thought otherwise, and it was Bailey who stayed instead.

Abhishek Purohit is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo