Tait back from hamstring injury

Shaun Tait will return from injury for Wednesday's Twenty20 match against Queensland at Adelaide, nearly a month after he was diagnosed with tendinosis of his left hamstring

Cricinfo staff

Andrew Johns will get another chance in the New South Wales side © Getty Images
Shaun Tait will return from injury for South Australia's Twenty20 match against Queensland at Adelaide on Wednesday, nearly a month after he was diagnosed with tendinosis of his left hamstring. Tait will be keen to impress at every opportunity, having been named in Australia's preliminary 30-man World Cup squad.
He will replace Gary Putland, who has strained his left quadriceps, in the Redbacks' line-up. South Australia, who have only one win from their three games this season, have dropped Callum Ferguson and Paul Rofe, and included Simon Roberts and the batsman James Smith, 18, who has been rewarded for his outstanding form in Adelaide grade cricket.
Brendan Nash has been called into the Queensland line-up as cover for their stand-in captain James Hopes, who is in the Australia squad to take on England at Sydney on Tuesday.
New South Wales have stuck with their controversial selection of Andrew Johns, the rugby league player, for Wednesday's match against Tasmania, despite the move contributing to their loss against South Australia on Sunday.
The Blues, who are now out of contention for the KFC Twenty20 final, lost to the Redbacks after Simon Katich refused to put Johns on strike in the last over of their run-chase. But Cricket New South Wales maintained the decision to play Johns as a crowd-puller paid off, with 10,652 spectators flocking to the game at Newcastle.
Nathan Hauritz will miss the game with a calf injury and has been replaced in the 12-man squad by Jarrad Burke, the top-order batsman who played all three Twenty20 games for the Blues in 2005-06. Tasmania, who have only one win on the board, have included Ben Hilfenhaus in their 13-man outfit, although his availability is uncertain after he was named in Australia's Twenty20 squad.
Western Australia, who travel to the MCG for a top-of-the-table clash with the Bushrangers, have made no changes to their line-up. Victoria's 13-man squad includes Cameron White and Shane Harwood, both of whom could play in the match against England. The winner of the game at Melbourne should host the final on Saturday, although a big win for Queensland could see them take the honour.
South Australia squad Daniel Harris, Darren Lehmann (capt), Mark Cosgrove, Nathan Adcock, Ken Skewes, James Smith, Graham Manou (wk), Ryan Harris, Trent Kelly, Dan Cullen, Simon Roberts, Shaun Tait.
Queensland squad James Hopes (capt), Craig Philipson, Brendan Nash, Clinton Perren, Nathan Reardon, Aaron Nye, Michael Buchanan, Chris Simpson, Steve Paulsen, Chris Hartley (wk), Andy Bichel, Ashley Noffke, Nathan Rimmington.
New South Wales squad Ed Cowan, Phil Jaques, Brad Haddin (wk), Simon Katich (capt), Daniel Christian, David Warner, Jarrad Burke, Dominic Thornely, Aaron O'Brien, Tim Lang, Scott Coyte, Andrew Johns.
Tasmania squad Michael Di Venuto, Dane Anderson, Travis Birt, Daniel Marsh (capt), George Bailey, Michael Dighton, Tim Paine (wk), Adam Polkinghorne, Damien Wright, Xavier Doherty, Brendan Drew, Matthew Wade, Ben Hilfenhaus.
Victoria squad Brad Hodge, Aiden Blizzard, Michael Klinger, Cameron White (capt), David Hussey, Robert Quiney, Andrew McDonald, Jon Moss, Adam Crosthwaite (wk), Shane Harwood, Gerard Denton, Mick Lewis, Darren Pattinson.
Western Australia squad Luke Ronchi (wk), Shaun Marsh, Adam Voges, Marcus North (capt), Luke Pomersbach, David Bandy, Theo Doropoulos, Sean Ervine, Peter Worthington, Aaron Heal, Tim Macdonald, Ben Edmondson.