World Series Cup


At Perth, December 9. India won by 5 runs. With New Zealand"s last pair, Lees and Chatfield, putting on 21 runs, the issue was in the balance until the very end. India, recognising their weakness when chasing runs, risked batting first on a pitch with a good deal of pace and bounce and, with Gavaskar (out first ball), Viswanath and Vengsarkar all failing, were bowled out for 162. Hadlee did the damage, striking with the first ball of each new spell, and won the Man of the Match award. New Zealand suffered from a break in the consistency of their left-handed openers, Wright and Edgar, as well as the continued absence of Howarth.

© John Wisden & Co