Pepsi Independence Cup, second final match


At Calcutta, May 27 (day/night). Sri Lanka won by 85 runs. Toss: Sri Lanka.

Another piece of luck with the toss and another dynamic display from Jayasuriya helped Sri Lanka to settle the best-of-three finals in two games. They were also helped by the support of a crowd estimated at 85,000, the most to attend Eden Gardens when India were not playing. Jayasuriya - who made 55 from 40 balls - and Atapattu opened with 69 in ten overs, then Aravinda de Silva kept up the impetus with a classy 57 from 49 balls. Ranatunga added another fifty and Sri Lanka passed 300 for the second match running. Pakistan made a poor start, with both openers holing out off unconventional shots as they tried to clear the infield. Ijaz Ahmed and Ramiz Raja added 98 but, once Ijaz fell to a smart stumping, they could not sustain the chase.

Man of the Match: P. A. De Silva. Man of the Series: S. T. Jayasuriya.

© John Wisden & Co