First T20I

Pakistan in New Zealand, 2010-11

Lynn McConnell

At Auckland, December 26, 2010. New Zealand won by five wickets. Toss: New Zealand. Twenty20 international debuts: D. G. Brownlie, A. F. Milne.

A remarkable spell from Southee, who took five for none in nine balls - including a hat-trick - set up victory for New Zealand after Pakistan's top order had threatened to run riot. Southee removed Ahmed Shehzad with the last ball of his first over, but the damage was done in his second. Younis Khan cut to deep point, Mohammad Hafeez nibbled fatally and, when Umar Akmal was trapped by one that angled in, Southee had four wickets in five deliveries. His eventual figures of five for 18 had been bettered in the format only by Umar Gul. Pakistan rallied from 84 for seven, but Guptill's high- octane strokeplay on a quick surface made up for the loss of three early wickets, and Taylor did the rest. The realignment of the Eden Park pitch - shifted 45 degrees so that it ran north-south to allow more spectators a better view in a stadium redesigned for the 2011 Rugby World Cup - produced short straight boundaries measuring only 45 metres from crease to rope. But if that had the batsmen licking their lips, Southee spoiled their fun.

Man of the Match: T. G. Southee.

© John Wisden & Co.