Third T20I

Pakistan in New Zealand, 2010-11

Lynn McConnell

At Christchurch, December 30, 2010 (floodlit). Pakistan won by 103 runs. Toss: Pakistan. Twenty20 international debut: Tanvir Ahmed.

New Zealand's top order caved in spectacularly to set up the biggest margin of victory between Test nations in Twenty20 cricket. Only once before in the format had the first four batsmen all fallen for ducks in the same innings - New Zealand inflicted the embarrassment on Kenya at Durban during the 2007 World Twenty20 - and the scoreboard read 11 for five when Abdul Razzaq bowled Franklin. Styris alone reached double figures as New Zealand fell one short of their previous Twenty20 nadir - 81 against Sri Lanka on a sticky wicket in Florida seven months earlier. Shahid Afridi became the first bowler to take 50 Twenty20 international wickets with the first of his four, but the match award went to Razzaq, who claimed three wickets to go with his 11-ball 34 in an imposing 183 for six. New Zealand's bowlers failed to apply any pressure as Ahmed Shehzad hurried to a 32-ball half-century and, although Franklin emerged relatively unscathed, the same could not be said for their batsmen. Pakistan's win ended a run of six Twenty20 defeats.

Man of the Match: Abdul Razzaq.

© John Wisden & Co.