Bangladesh v Pakistan, Asia Cup, Mirpur March 4, 2014

Abdur Rehman barred for three illegal full-tosses

ESPNcricinfo staff
34

Abdur Rehman, the Pakistan left-arm spinner, was barred from bowling in the Asia Cup match against Bangladesh before he had delivered a legal ball. Rehman was brought on in the 11th over and delivered three consecutive full tosses above the waist, forcing umpire Johan Cloete to take him off. Rehman finished with figures of 0-0-8-0.

According to the ICC's playing conditions for ODIs, a bowler will be banned from the attack if he delivers more than one full toss above the waist.

Rehman's first delivery to Imrul Kayes slipped out of his hand, ending up high and wide outside off stump, and umpire Cloete called it a no-ball. His second delivery was straighter and chest high. Kayes pulled off the front foot but was caught at deep midwicket. The on-field umpires asked Kayes to wait and replays confirmed it was a second no-ball.

Umpire Cloete had a word with Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq and, showing leniency, let Rehman continue. He immediately delivered a third high full toss, which Anamul Haque pulled to the midwicket boundary. Umpire Cloete called Misbah over and told him Rehman could not continue, after which Fawad Alam completed the over.

Rehman had been brought in for this game as a replacement for Junaid Khan, who was rested.

The MCC's Laws make a distinction between dangerous and unfair bowling from a fast bowler and a spinner, with regard to full tosses. While fast bowlers are not permitted to bowl full tosses above waist height, the law is more lenient for a spinner, because of the less dangerous pace, and only deliveries above the shoulder are deemed dangerous and unfair.

"A slow delivery which passes or would have passed on the full above shoulder height of the striker standing upright at the popping crease is to be deemed dangerous and unfair, whether or not it is likely to inflict physical injury on the striker," according to Law 42.6.b.

The ICC's playing conditions for ODIs, however, supersede the MCC's Laws for international cricket and according to them fast bowlers and spinners are treated the same. A bowler is warned after his first waist-high full toss, and barred from bowling if he bowls a second.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • msharif911 on March 6, 2014, 10:43 GMT

    Very surprised from such an experienced bowler. Another embarrassing record for us I'm afraid....

  • RibhavBansal on March 6, 2014, 5:29 GMT

    Number 8 played a significant role for Rehman in the ODI!!! Not only did he give away 8 runs without bowling a legal delivery, he also scored 8 runs and got out on the 8th ball he faced!!!

  • rakaiaroyal on March 5, 2014, 8:58 GMT

    I was quite surprised with the lack of turn he got

  • dummy4fb on March 5, 2014, 8:19 GMT

    It's simply unbelievable to fathom that a bowler of Abdur Rehman's experience and caliber who has taken 95 wickets in 20 Tests can bowl 3 consecutive no-balls consisting of 2 beamers and got taken off the attack in his very first over!

    Is it me or does anyone else think that there is something more to it than it meets the eye?

  • dummy4fb on March 5, 2014, 3:00 GMT

    Hopeless display. Schoolboy stuff.

  • Saadcricketlover on March 5, 2014, 2:51 GMT

    replace him by raza hasan who is only 21.

  • android_user on March 4, 2014, 21:28 GMT

    he was allowed to ball 3 rd because 1 of it was not termed dangerous as it was not on body. had a poor day. will remain their in record books. least expected from experienced guy like him.

  • wrenx on March 4, 2014, 20:17 GMT

    Guy had a bad day. If you watch the second and 3rd deliveries, you'll see he got a fair bit of drift on them, so you can tell he was trying to spin them a lot.

    His bowling wasn't dangerous, not at that pace, and his deliveries were either way wide, or dropped harmlessly and were hittable. Rehman was just off today, which is a shame in international cricket, but we've seen it before (and much worse than this - Steve Harmison, anyone? Darrel Tuffey? Curtly Ambrose?)

  • mzm149 on March 4, 2014, 19:38 GMT

    Poor guy had an off day. But he is generally very good in whatever limited chances are give to him. He got his punishment by not being given any over to bowl. He should be persisted with if the pitch requires.

  • espncricinfomobile on March 4, 2014, 19:25 GMT

    Happens guys, 1 or 3 what's the difference? Lay off him, he is not a bad bowler, maybe the ball was slippery, could be anything, not a big deal, he isn't a Steyn.

  • No featured comments at the moment.