Expert panel votes for world champions' top team November 30, 2005

Taylor scoops Waugh as No.1 captain

Cricinfo staff

Leader of men: Mark Taylor was picked ahead of his New South Wales team-mate © Getty Images

Steve Waugh's record-breaking streak as captain was not enough to win him the leadership role in a side recognising the efforts of Australia's decade as world champions. A ten-man panel of playing and commentary experts assembled by the magazine Inside Cricket chose Mark Taylor ahead of Waugh to guide an XI that also included the wicketkeepers Ian Healy and Adam Gilchrist.

Taylor was picked to open alongside Matthew Hayden from the 46 Test players to appear between Australia's unofficial rise to world champions in 1995 until 2005. Waugh, who was in charge when Australia won an unprecedented 16 Tests in a row, received four votes to Taylor's five from selectors that included Dennis Lillee and the former captains Ian and Greg Chappell.

Waugh was a certainty as a batsman and lined up behind Ricky Ponting and Mark Waugh and in front of Adam Gilchrist, who pipped Damien Martyn for the final spot. However, Gilchrist was overlooked for the wicketkeeping duties. Shane Warne was another automatic entry and was part of a bowling attack including Jason Gillespie, Craig McDermott and Glenn McGrath.

The XI 1 Matthew Hayden, 2 Mark Taylor (capt), 3 Ricky Ponting, 4 Mark Waugh, 5 Steve Waugh, 6 Adam Gilchrist, 7 Ian Healy (wk), 8 Shane Warne, 9 Jason Gillespie, 10 Craig McDermott, 11 Glenn McGrath.

Selectors Dennis Lillee, Ian Chappell, Greg Chappell, Mark Nicholas, Terry Jenner, Geoff Lawson, Mark Richardson, Darren Berry, Dean Jones, Jim Maxwell.

For Inside Cricket subscription details go to