Australia news October 16, 2012

Tendulkar given Order of Australia honour


Sachin Tendulkar will become the fourth non-Australian cricketer to receive an Order of Australia honour. The prime minister of Australia, Julia Gillard, made the announcement while visiting a cricket clinic in Delhi and she said Tendulkar, who is currently in South Africa for the Champions League Twenty20, would receive the honour from cabinet minister Simon Crean, who is due to visit India soon.

"I'm very pleased we're going to confer on Sachin Tendulkar membership of the Order of Australia, an AM," Gillard told reporters in Delhi. "This is a very special honour, very rarely awarded to someone who is not an Australian citizen or an Australian national.

"He is away playing cricket - surprise, surprise - but the award will be conferred on him by minister Crean when [he] visits India. So a very special honour and a very special recognition of such a great batsman."

No cricketer has played more matches against Australia than Tendulkar, who has played against them 106 times across Tests, ODIs and Twenty20 internationals. He has toured Australia five times for Test series, from 1991 to 2011, and only Jack Hobbs has scored more Test runs against the Australians.

Tendulkar will be the first non-Australian cricketer to be made an honorary member of the Order of Australia since Brian Lara, who was given the award in 2009. Lara was given the title "for service to Australia-Caribbean relations by promoting goodwill, friendship and sportsmanship through the sport of cricket".

In 1985, the former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd was made an honorary Officer of the Order of Australia, which ranks higher in the Australian honour system than the member of the Order of Australia, for his "outstanding and positive influence on the game in Australia".

Another West Indian, Sir Garfield Sobers, was also made a member of the Order of Australia in 2003, "for service to cricket as a player and supporter of young players, particularly from disadvantaged areas and groups, and to the community through support for charitable organisations". However, Sobers holds Australian citizenship through marriage, so his award was not considered "honorary".

Approximately 20 Australian cricketers have been given Order of Australia honours, including Sir Donald Bradman, Allan Border, Steve Waugh, Mark Waugh, Mark Taylor, Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath, Matthew Hayden, Dennis Lillee, Max Walker, Bob Simpson, Keith Miller, Justin Langer, Bill Lawry, Ricky Ponting, Peter Burge, Ron Archer, Alan Davidson, Dean Jones and Belinda Clark.

Brydon Coverdale is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. He tweets here

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on October 19, 2012, 13:43 GMT

    That was a very nice gesture by Australia. Never heard of this award before, but the Indian fans aren't complaining. However, the biggest award for the great man is that he rules the hearts of 1.3 Billion Indians. Thats bigger than any award any country can bestow upon him. A section of Aussie media are jealous of Tendulkar because he is widely regarded at the best batsman ever(not Bradman), not the least of which is Matthew Hayden(the man with a chip on his shoulder). Tendulkar is a such an awsome legend, that Australia gave themselves an award, by associating themselves with the great man.

  • Manesh on October 19, 2012, 10:31 GMT

    Funny to see people criticizing the last gentleman of cricket!

  • Kris on October 18, 2012, 4:38 GMT

    Actually his record in Oz is pathetic. Even out of the 2 wins, his contribution is negligible in 1. And he has figured in as many as 14 losses. Lara's case is not better, but most of his innings were against the very best Oz attack and he looked so destructive at times. Averages won't tell about a player's supremacy. And he never played for averages.

  • natmastak on October 18, 2012, 2:36 GMT

    if I was a punter fan,I will just look at his poor record in India ,and shut my mouth for long. ECB might want to honour punter,for helping them win 3 ashes.

  • natmastak on October 17, 2012, 18:02 GMT

    thanks for the entertainment,master blaster,none other than you deserves it more . ah punter,the less said is better .

  • Dummy4 on October 17, 2012, 17:32 GMT

    " I don't know about cricket, but still I watch cricket to see Sachin play. Not because I love his play, it 's because I want to know the reason why my country's production goes down by 5% when he is batting " - ( Barack Obama, US President ).

  • pargat on October 17, 2012, 15:05 GMT

    Warne is a great bowler no doubt. But may be he is not given the award because of his controversial behaviour off the field many times.

  • Kris on October 17, 2012, 9:24 GMT

    Comparison to Ponting! Well, maybe Australian voters in India are far fewer compared to vice versa. Ponting has not even reached 100 defeats in ODI's whereas this guy completed 200 at Dhaka amidst absurd celebrations. I'm writing this only because Ponting is unnecessarily belittled by some jingoists.

  • mitch on October 17, 2012, 7:55 GMT

    this is purely political, trying to brighten the relationship between Australia and India.

  • sam on October 17, 2012, 7:23 GMT

    @jonesy, Imsrk-For his terrifying masterpiece in 'Bullring'-Jo'berg in 2003 where he lorded over Indian bowling helming his 'Invincibles' alone Ponting deserves a similar Indian honour.That's not counting his counting his stunning body of achievements both as player and captain even leaving aside those against India-most of which are to remain unparalleled in history. Coming to India ,surely can't discount the tons of runs scored off Indian bowling in Tests alone including the hugely profitable venture during India's last sojourn down under.That is not even taking his prolific record against India in ODIs both as batsman as well as captain in series between the sides.Now, picking out an odd poor series that he had early in his career in India is means nothing- He not the only great player to have a bad run or series. He more than made up for it in later test series against India and no particular bowler was spared-not even considering games in Aus here (Check the records).

  • No featured comments at the moment.