Australia news

Four BBL teams fined over contract reporting

ESPNcricinfo staff

April 4, 2014

Text size: A | A

Confetti rains down on the Perth Scorchers players as they celebrate winning the Big Bash League, Perth Scorchers v Hobart Hurricanes, Big Bash League, Final, Perth, February 7, 2014
BBL winners the Perth Scorchers were one of the four teams fined © Getty Images
Related Links

Cricket Australia newly-formed integrity unit has punished four BBL teams for failing to complete their contract reporting duties.

The Melbourne Stars, Melbourne Renegades, Perth Scorchers and Brisbane Heat have each been handed a partially-suspended fine of $10,000 for what Cricket Australia stressed were "administrative oversights". In a statement, CA said there was no suggestion that any side had breached the BBL's salary cap.

However, the four teams failed to meet the deadline to submit statutory declarations that were required to accompany a report to CA providing full details of all payments made to players. The statutory declarations, which confirm that the information in the contract reports is a true, complete and accurate record, have since been submitted by all four sides.

The four teams have each been fined $5000 with an additional $5000 fine suspended for three years, a decision made by the integrity unit after it reviewed the reasons given by the teams for their non-compliance.

Cricket Australia's integrity unit was established in December 2013 following an integrity review conducted by the former AFL executive Adrian Anderson. Its brief includes, among other things, overseeing CA's anti-corruption measures, code of behaviour issues, anti-doping programme and management of competition regulations.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
5th ODI: Australia v South Africa at Sydney
Nov 23, 2014 (14:20 local | 03:20 GMT | 22:20 EST | 21:20 CST | 19:20 PST)
CA XI v Indians at Adelaide
Nov 24-25, 2014 (10:30 local | 00:00 GMT | 19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST)
NSW v South Aust at Sydney
Nov 25-28, 2014 (10:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST)
Victoria v West Aust at Melbourne
Nov 25-28, 2014 (10:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST)
Queensland v Tasmania at Brisbane
Nov 25-28, 2014 (10:00 local | 00:00 GMT | 19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days