Strikers return for Australian tour but Ganga shut out October 5, 2005

West Indies keep faith in Lawson

Cricinfo staff

Jermaine Lawson has been included in West Indies' 15-man squad for the forthcoming tour of Australia despite continuing concerns over both his action and fitness.

The squad contains almost all the big names who missed the recent Sri Lanka tour following a strike over contracts. Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Wavell Hinds, Brian Lara, Ramnaresh Sarwan, and Devon Smith are all included in the side, while Shivnarine Chanderpaul will continue as captain.

But notable absentees include Pedro Collins, Sylvester Joseph, Daren Ganga, Omari Banks and wicketkeeper Carlton Baugh. Ganga, who led the A team in Sri Lanka, was critical of the role of certain officials in pressurising junior players to break the strike and appears to have paid for his stance. On that tour, Ganga easily scored the most runs for West Indies in the three `Tests'.

The tour starts with a four-day match against Queensland in Brisbane from October 27. The Tests will be played in Brisbane from November 3, Hobart from November 17 and Adelaide from November 25 with a four-day match against Victoria scheduled in Melbourne from November 11.

West Indies squad Shiv Chanderpaul (capt), Tino Best, Dwayne Bravo, Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards,Chris Gayle, Wavell Hinds, Brian Lara, Jermaine Lawson, Daren Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith, Dwayne Smith