Zimbabwe in Bangladesh, 2006-07 November 19, 2006

Nafees to lead in Twenty20 international

Cricinfo staff

Shahriar Nafees gets his first shot at the national captaincy © AFP

Shahriar Nafees, the opening batsman, will lead Bangladesh in it's first ever Twenty20 International, against Zimbabwe at Khulna. The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) today announced the squads for the first three one-dayers, the Twenty20 international, and the warm-up one-dayer against the touring Zimbabweans.

Habibul Bashar will lead the BCB President's XI in the warm-up one-dayer at Savar on November 26 and for the first three one-dayers. However, he was omitted from the squad for the Twenty20 international as was Khaled Mashud, the wicketkeeper. Mohammad Ashraful, the dashing middle-order batsman, and opener Rajin Saleh have been left out of all three squads owing to their poor form.

The one-day series begins at Khulna on November 30, with the second and third matches scheduled for Bogra.

One-day squad Habibul Bashar (capt), Shahriar Nafees, Khaled Mashud, Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Rafique, Tushar Imran, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shahadat Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel, Saqibul Hasan, Farhad Reza, Mehrab Hossain Jr

Twenty20 international Shahriar Nafees (capt), Aftab Ahmed, Saqibul Hasan, Nazmus Sadat, Mohammad Rafique, Mohammad Rafique, Nadif Chowdhury, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shahadat Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tapash Baishya, Mehrab Hossain Jr

BCB President's XI Habibul Bashar (capt), Mehrab Hossain Jr, Nadif Chowdhury, Nazmus Sadat, Mahmudullah Riyad, Farhad Reza, Nazmul Hossain, Tapash Baishya, Tapash Baishya, Marshall Ayub, Musharaf Hossain Rubel, Ziaur Rahman