Champions League Twenty20 2011 September 22, 2011

Mumbai allowed to field five overseas players

ESPNcricinfo staff

Mumbai Indians have been permitted to field five overseas players in a team during their Champions League Twenty20 games because several of their Indian players have suffered tournament-ending injuries. However, all the overseas players must have been contracted by them to play in the 2011 IPL. Mumbai are without six of their first-choice players, including the captain Sachin Tendulkar, and their reinforced squad contains seven Indians and seven foreign players.

The other IPL teams will be permitted to field only four overseas players in their XIs during the CLT20.

Apart from Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Munaf Patel, Ali Murtaza, Dhawal Kulkarni and Suryakumar Yadav were ruled out of the tournament. They were replaced by Andrew Symonds, Dilhara Fernando, R Sathish, Sarul Kanwar and Abu Nechim. Moises Henriques is contracted to Mumbai, but cannot be considered for selection since he is a part of the New South Wales squad for the tournament. Tendulkar (injured toe), Rohit (broken finger) and Munaf (twisted ankle) were injured during India's recent tour of England.

In the absence of regular captain Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh will lead the team.

The CLT20 technical committee said, in addition to those six players, it had also received medical reports that ruled out two more Mumbai players - Aditya Tare and Pawan Suyal - from the tournament. Therefore, in all, a total of eight out of Mumbai's 23 contracted players were unavailable for selection.

"In the current circumstances, if the Mumbai Indians suffer one more injury to an Indian player, they will be unable to field a team due to CLT20 rules restricting teams to a maximum of four overseas players in any one match," the tournament organisers said in a media release. "As a result, the CLT20 governing council has approved a recommendation by the technical committee that to ensure the integrity of the tournament the Mumbai Indians will be permitted to select up to five overseas players in any one team, provided those players were contracted to play in the 2011 IPL.

"This was considered the most appropriate solution to respect player safety and ensure no player plays for a CLT20 team unless he played for, or was contracted to play for, that team in the qualifying event."

"Subject to approval, the ruling of the Governing Council and Technical Committee is applicable to any other team that, like the Mumbai Indians, suffers tournament-ending injuries in significant numbers that compromises its participation in the event.

"The current Mumbai Indians squad consists of 14 players, however they may add another player to their squad from their remaining injury-free contract list if they choose."

The CLT20 governing council comprises BCCI president N Srinivasan, former IPL chairman Chirayu Amin, BCCI vice-president Niranjan Shah, Cricket South Africa chief Gerald Majola, Cricket Australia chief James Sutherland and a CA official Dean Kino.

Mumbai squad: Harbhajan Singh (capt), Lasith Malinga (overseas), Andrew Symonds (overseas), James Franklin (overseas), Aiden Blizzard (overseas), Davy Jacobs (overseas), Kieron Pollard (overseas), Dilhara Fernado (overseas), R Satish, Ambati Rayudu, T Suman, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sarul Kanwar, Abu Nechim.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Srivastava on September 25, 2011, 9:19 GMT

    We miss you Sachin in this CLT20 !

  • Lou on September 24, 2011, 14:23 GMT

    It's only T20, even if there is a lot of money involved. I suppose it will end up with all the T20 teams in all nations being franchises and being allowed 4 overseas players or more. It's how professional club sport works in other sports.

  • Alex on September 24, 2011, 14:11 GMT

    Rules are rules. But rich team and rich always have their own rules. if you hav ethe power , you can change the rule when ever you want. BCCI want IPL team to win champions league.

  • Dummy4 on September 24, 2011, 14:01 GMT

    Friends jus stop bluffing!!!! I hate IPL n CLT20.. lets stop watching this.. With this time they can prepar for the future programs or they can atlst play some domestic games.. We want lengthy format games jus to nurture young talentd playrs who can play only professional cricket and not slogging!!! Come on IndiA.. Lets stop this stupid tournament..

  • John on September 24, 2011, 13:57 GMT

    @Aaryabhatta: England has no overseas players in their squad. All the players are qualified to play for England. I think you'll find that if there was someone in Mumbai's squad who was qualified to play for India, they would not be counted as an overseas player, regardless of where they were born. The players we are talking about here are those not qualified to play for India. @Patrick Hayward and Meety: Under the CLT20 rules, my guess is that Somerset or NSW would be entitled to draft in additional overseas players, provided those players were contracted to play for either Somerset or NSW respectively. The issue would be that the overseas teams are not allowed by the rules in their own domestic competitions to have additional overseas players, so they don't have any 'spares'. It just shows what a contrived competition the CLT20 is.

  • Santanu on September 24, 2011, 13:32 GMT

    IPL is a good concept where you get to see the duels between Watson vs Bollinger, Steyn vs Smith or Dhoni vs Zaheer..sports need not be always associated with national pride but CLT20 is neither here nor there. Yes the rules are being tweaked to favour IPL teams...but still the other teams and Cricket Associations involved do not complain because they love the money they get by appearing in this tournament. Greedy people do not bother about morality so much! But down the line they are killing the tournament as well...its very difficult to accept this tournament seriously, if these kind of decisions are taken.

  • harsha on September 24, 2011, 13:02 GMT

    Indian audience will not watch CL without Indian teams but I think this is about time they gave up the CL as a failed exercise.They have modeled this after UEFA but it frankly disgusts me to see KKR the 4th placed team play when the 1st placed team in the respective leagues sit out.At least model it fully on UEFA where the performance of the teams in the tournament determines the number of slots which they can take next year.Giving MI permission to play 5 international player is just adding insult to Injury.I am Indian and this is just plain wrong.

  • Dummy4 on September 24, 2011, 12:40 GMT

    Mate, just go thru the history of this CLT20 conception. The plan was originally concieved by 3 boards ie BCCI, CA, CSA. Thats whats emphasised in this year's format. Their respective teams only got a direct berth (2 apiece from sa,aus, 3 from ind). Other clubs had to qualify. Simple.

  • Dummy4 on September 24, 2011, 12:28 GMT

    This is not cricket playing. This is money and influence playing. How can you change rules at the middle of a tournament? barbaric & primitive I would say! Shame on you MI!! shame on you indian cricket board!!!

  • Dummy4 on September 24, 2011, 11:08 GMT

    teams from SL,NZ & ENG are far better than indian teams without foreign players,...

  • No featured comments at the moment.