Champions League Twenty20 2012

Mumbai grouped with Chennai for CLT20

ESPNcricinfo staff

July 27, 2012

Comments: 85 | Text size: A | A

Mumbai Indians' players are ecstatic after winning the CLT20, Mumbai Indians v RCB, CLT20 final, Chennai, October 9, 2011
Mumbai Indians were given direct entry to the group stage as the title holders © Associated Press

Current champions Mumbai Indians, who were given direct entry to the group stage, have been placed with IPL runners-up Chennai Super Kings, Sydney Sixers and Highveld Lions in Group B for the Champions League T20 in South Africa, which starts on October 13. IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders, South African T20 champions Titans, Australia's Perth Scorchers and Delhi Daredevils are in the other group.

The groups will also include a fifth team from the qualifying round of matches, to be played between October 9 and 11 between six teams, including Pakistan's Sialkot Stallions and Trinidad & Tobago, that have been divided into two groups of three.

The tournament begins with two Group A matches - between South Africa's T20 champions Titans and Scorchers followed by another encounter from the same group between Knight Riders and Daredevils. The Wanderers in Johannesburg will host the final on October 28 while the semi-finals will be played in Centurion and Durban.

Group A: Kolkata Knight Riders (India), Titans (South Africa), Perth Scorchers (Australia), Delhi Daredevils (India) and Qualifier 1

Group B: Chennai Super Kings (India), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Sydney Sixers (Australia), Mumbai Indians (India) and Qualifier 2.

Qualifying Pool 1: Sialkot Stallions (Pakistan), Auckland Aces (New Zealand) and England's domestic T20 winners.

Qualifying Pool 2: Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies), England's domestic T20 runners-up and Sri Lanka's domestic T20 winner.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (July 30, 2012, 15:02 GMT)

As an Indian I am ashamed of India arbitrarily fielding 4 teams, whereas a team like T&T still has to qualify!

Posted by Keithnkin on (July 30, 2012, 13:21 GMT)

This tournament reminds me very much of NFL in the USA. The winner is called WORLD CHAMPION even though the teams are all from the USA and yes , there are a handful of players who come from overseas. I guess its all good as long as its among the families of the oligarchs. To us common folks , its just all a big joke.

Posted by   on (July 30, 2012, 13:20 GMT)

2 Teams from IPL. Champions Kolkatta Night Riders & Runner-up Chennai Super Kings have made direct entry. Its OK. But 2 other teams that is toppers of IPL & 4th team given direct entry is rubbish. I think they should add Dhaka Gladiators from Bangladesh & one team from Zimbabwe should be added if the tournament wants to survive like IPL.

Posted by   on (July 30, 2012, 8:28 GMT)

Sixersssssss will Rockkkkkk !! especiallyy my fav SMITH !!

Posted by tahseenfung on (July 30, 2012, 7:33 GMT)

4 IPL teams? too many!!! looks another edition of IPL

Posted by mihir_nam on (July 30, 2012, 5:15 GMT)

Add one Bangladeshi and Zimbabwean team to Qualifiers. if associates can play 2games a day why can't these franchises .

Posted by   on (July 29, 2012, 19:48 GMT)

as said and commented by the knowledgable cricket lovers i do agree the fact that this CLT 20 is purely and genuinely IPL like tournament as four of the IPL teams have got direct entry even without playing a single qualifing match as for me dis is nt the righ tway hence all the teams from all test play ing countries should get their fair chance in participating dis tournament. i wish and hp dat one of the qualifing teams should win dis CLT 20 in order to kick out the direct higher rank teams out of the tournament.

Posted by   on (July 29, 2012, 18:21 GMT)

Dhaka gladiators from Bangladesh ????????????????????????????????????

Posted by Desihungama on (July 29, 2012, 15:05 GMT)

If Sialkot Stallions makes it to Group Stage, it will be interesting to see match between them and KKR where Wasim Akram tips could be handy for the latter.

Posted by   on (July 29, 2012, 11:53 GMT)

Where is Dhaka gladiators >>>>>>>>>>> ?

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Tournament Results
Lions v Syd Sixers at Johannesburg - Oct 28, 2012
Syd Sixers won by 10 wickets (with 45 balls remaining)
Syd Sixers v Titans at Centurion - Oct 26, 2012
Syd Sixers won by 2 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)
Daredevils v Lions at Durban - Oct 25, 2012
Lions won by 22 runs
Daredevils v Titans at Centurion - Oct 23, 2012
No result (abandoned with a toss)
Auckland v Scorchers at Centurion - Oct 23, 2012
Scorchers won by 16 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days