ICC Awards 2011 September 12, 2011

Jonathan Trott is ICC Cricketer of the Year

ESPNcricinfo staff

Jonathan Trott, the England batsman, has been named the Cricketer of the Year for 2011, the ICC's top accolade. He received the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy at the annual ceremony in London, after his team-mate Alastair Cook had won the Test Cricketer of the Year award.

"It's fantastic to be part of a successful team and I never envisaged winning this award. It's a brilliant feeling to be recognised," Trott said.

In 12 Tests during the period under consideration, Trott scored 1042 runs at an average of 65.12, including four centuries and three half-centuries. He also played 24 ODIs, scoring 1064 runs at an average of 48.36 with two centuries and nine 50s. Trott was chosen for the award ahead of Cook, last-year's winner Sachin Tendulkar and South Africa batsman Hashim Amla.

Previous winners of the Cricketer of the Year award include Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010).

Cook, however, won the Test Cricketer award after having a prolific year in the format. Cook played 12 Tests, and in 18 innings he scored 1302 runs at an average of 76.58, including six centuries and four half-centuries. His 235 not out against Australia in Brisbane kick-started England's first Ashes victory away from home since 1986-87.

Kumar Sangakkara, the former Sri Lanka captain, was the only player to win two awards on the night. He was named the ODI Cricketer of the Year and also picked up the People's Choice Award. Sangakkara scored 1049 runs at an average of 55.21 in 25 ODIs. He also had 26 catches and 10 stumpings as wicketkeeper and led Sri Lanka to the final of the 2011 World Cup.

Though India spent most of the period under consideration at No. 1 in the Test rankings, and won the 2011 World Cup, their only award winner was the captain MS Dhoni, who was given the Spirit of Cricket accolade. Dhoni was not present at the ceremony despite being in England.

The ICC chose West Indies legspinner Devendra Bishoo, ahead of other nominees Darren Bravo, Wahab Riaz and Azhar Ali, for the Emerging Player Award. Bishoo, 25, played five Tests in the voting period and took 21 wickets at an average of 35.42. He also picked up 19 wickets at 21.57 each in 11 ODIs.

Ryan ten Doeschate, the Netherlands allrounder, was named the ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year for the third time in four years, and for the second year running. ten Doeschate was chosen ahead of Afghanistan allrounder Hamid Hassan, and the Irish duo of Paul Stirling and Kevin O'Brien, both centurions in the 2011 World Cup.

New Zealand seamer Tim Southee won the award for Twenty20 International Performance of the Year, for his spell of 5 for 18 against Pakistan in Auckland.

Pakistan umpire Aleem Dar has won the David Shepherd trophy for the Umpire of the Year for the third consecutive time. He beat competition from Steve Davis, Ian Gould and five-time winner Simon Taufel.

Stafanie Taylor, the West Indies women's allrounder, was named the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on September 14, 2011, 18:24 GMT

    ICC awards...............

  • Hira on September 14, 2011, 18:14 GMT

    @optic..im only stating the facts trott is a south african and unfortunately for england they cant really play cricket as they dont have any gifted players hence why their side, barring KP and trott who are south african, have bland players. Theres nothing i think is attractive about anyone of their players..they need a few imports like trott to assist beating an injured indian side who unlike england, have naturally gifted players like tendulkar..dravid and co!

  • Joseph on September 14, 2011, 16:47 GMT

    India may have not wanted to go for the ceremony, as they may have been feeling embarressed after the thrashing they received from England. If they had the No.1 Tag in Tests they would have certainly attended.

  • Dummy4 on September 14, 2011, 8:15 GMT

    Why doesn't ICC start giving awards for "catch of the year by keeper", "catch of the year by fielder", "bowled/wicket of the year", "six of the year", "four of the year" also...

  • Harsimran on September 14, 2011, 7:23 GMT

    Satisfied with the awards given.Good work ICC!

  • GARY on September 14, 2011, 1:43 GMT

    @hira02 If your trying to be funny at least make it a original one we haven't heard before and secondly Trott is more deserving of the award because he played 12 tests to Amla's 5 and averaged more than him at the same time. Amal hasn't played Test cricket in half of the qualifying period, Amla has better Odi stats but still Trott's are very good as well, so you tell me why Amla is so much more deserving than Trott?

  • paul on September 14, 2011, 1:25 GMT

    @Pratik_CricEnthusiast Amla played 5 tests during the period in question and still didn't average more than Trott, while Trott played 12 test matches. So no he doesn't deserve it more than Trott, simple as that.

    @serious-am-i Eh what does the Ashes have to do with it, that is one of the series that's makes up the time frame but England have played a few more series as well and Trott's made runs in all of them. You seem to be having a incoherent rant about things you know nothing about because that's how it certainly looks

    @BULTY Try reading the article again, if you did at all, Trott didn't win Test player of the year, that went to Cook, Trott got cricketer of the year for his all round batting performance. No Aussie players in because non of them deserved to be in. simples.

  • Heath on September 13, 2011, 23:12 GMT

    I am surprised some people are criticising the English players getting the award. They have been outstanding over the last 12 months. India should have sent a representative.

  • Mohsin on September 13, 2011, 19:24 GMT

    India nd dhoni disgraced the icc nd the spirit of cricket award by not attending the function. Giving such childish excuses meant they didnt really deserve that award. Come on. Is it possible that the team came to know abt the schedule only by 12 noon that day. Utter nonsense. Teams must hav known abt it months earlier. Definitely something fishy

  • Ravi on September 13, 2011, 18:23 GMT

    Absolutely ridiculous! Not sure how do they select cricketer of the year! When there are more deserving candidates, Trott gets the trophy, perhaps is should be called England Cricketers of the year Trophy! The past few years the list is full of England players only (for example Reed with only 300 runs apiece in test and ODI, he gets the cricketer of the year award!!). Please don't include any other player from other countries in future! It is not worth!!!!

  • No featured comments at the moment.