World Cup 2015 October 11, 2011

ICC spells out 2015 WC qualification plan

ESPNcricinfo staff

The outcome of as many as four tournaments will determine which Associate and Affiliate teams qualify for the 2015 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The tournament will comprise 14 teams, of which ten are the current Test-playing nations. The top two teams in the ongoing Intercontinental One-Day Cup - an eight-team tournament that runs till October 2013 - will also go through to the World Cup. The six remaining teams will join four others from the World Cricket League (teams placed third and fourth in Division Two, and those that finish first and second in Division Three) in a qualifying tournament, with the finalists making it to the World Cup.

The ICC, before its June conference, had decided, at a meeting in April, to stick to just ten teams in the 2015 World Cup but a wave of protests from the Associates, who feared exclusion, forced the member boards and the governing body to reconsider that decision. It was then agreed at Hong Kong that the 2015 World Cup will be a 14-team tournament, preceded by a qualifying round for the Associate teams.

The number of teams in the World Twenty20s in 2012 and 2014 - as agreed in Hong Kong - stands reduced from 16 to 12 (ten Full Members and two Associate teams).

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • M Vivek on October 13, 2011, 6:35 GMT

    @Viswateja Kasarabada..... Are u ready to sponsor those qualification events.

  • Manesh on October 13, 2011, 3:49 GMT

    @Paramjit Das. You forget that 2011 format fixed earlier by former chairman. Not yesterday! and only Mr.Pawar was the supporter for Associate members when the others (Australia in particular) asked for a 8-10 team WC. And again you forgot that BD got full member/ test status because of Indian support. You cannot hide it by closing ur eyes. I cannot see such a lobbying for Ireland or NED by England. then why the fuss?

  • Dummy4 on October 13, 2011, 0:09 GMT

    @Man0007: uhm, what? BCCI was probably the sole reason that the 2011 format meant that the associates would never get through to the knockout stages.because when they did , ICC lost india and pak fairly early in 2007 which resulted in a huge financial loss mainly due to indias elimination. I wont be surprised if Pawar actually wanted to give the boot to the associates. England has always helped progress the development of cricket in ireland and netherlands [even though it means stealing their players :P]

  • Dummy4 on October 12, 2011, 5:40 GMT

    This is a mater of hope, at the same time an issue of concern for the Afghan National Team, noting their recent successive defeats in the games played during their recent tour of the UAE...

  • Manesh on October 12, 2011, 4:07 GMT

    Kudos to BCCI and Pawar for the decision to give chance to the associates...PAK and England board thought they can avoid defeats to associates in the WC by denying their opportunity... it is a smash at their face...

  • Tim on October 12, 2011, 3:02 GMT

    7 home grown players? Even England can't manage that! UAE currently have 4 locally born players in their team. That's probably similar to Netherlands but I don't know how many are long term residents of UAE as something like half the country's population are born abroad.

  • Tim on October 12, 2011, 2:53 GMT

    I think you have to see the nature of UAE as a country, it's a country of expats. In the coming years they're going to produce a lot more local players (with Indian and Pakistan backgrounds). There is a lot of interest in cricket in that country. I'd love to see Kenya get back to the top but right now they aren't competitive. As for Netherlands I don't think they're as good as people think. Their bowling since they lost Nannes is awful and besides Ten Doschate their batting isn't much better. But I guess any team that can qualify deserves to be there.

  • Dummy4 on October 11, 2011, 21:28 GMT

    I think a football style qualification is required. It is most likely that the 10 test nations will automatically qualify, however it will at least give the associate countries the cricketing exposure they require. At present an associate country is most likely to play a test nation in an ODI once a year or in a WC (every 4 years). This will hardly expose them to the high level of cricket they need to improve their level. It's the same theory behind new test nations having more tours during a year. The best way to improve ones skill is to play and experience it in the highest level. Whether it be ODIs for associates or Tests for newly included countries. Remember the rising tide raises all ships.

  • TheMystery on October 11, 2011, 20:42 GMT

    @ Viswateja Kasarabada.

    That is not possible. Unlike Football players who play at max 50 matches for club in a year (less for the teams that dont qualify for Champions league or other such continental tournaments. Most clubs play as less as 40 games a year ) and 5-6 friendlies in a year, cricketers play 35-40 ODIs in a year where they have to stand whole day on the field, to add to that 5 day test matches and T20I games and then T20 club games. And you want all of them to play qualifying tournament?

    Its simple not practical. At max they can reduce the automatic qualification to 8 teams instead of all 10 test playing nations. Not more than that. Rest will have to qualify automatically.

    @Conor Arguably Cricket is more skill oriented in its 50 over and test match form than Rugby. That model will not work here.

  • Dummy4 on October 11, 2011, 18:13 GMT

    A football type system must be bought in.. where all teams whether test or associate or affiliate has to go through a qualification process based on region. Also by taking into account the number of playing nations in a particular region, number of teams to qualify can be determined. This type of system will cause growth of cricket all around the world and increase it popularity.

  • No featured comments at the moment.