ICC awards 2012 August 30, 2012

Clarke named captain of ICC Test Team of the Year

ESPNcricinfo staff

Australia's Michael Clarke has been named captain of the ICC's Test Team of the Year, while South Africa quick Dale Steyn has made it to the team for the fifth year in a row.

The team comprises Alastair Cook and Hashim Amla as openers, with Kumar Sangakkara, Jacques Kallis, Clarke and Shivnarine Chanderpaul slotting into the middle order. Matt Prior has been chosen as the wicketkeeper, and Saeed Ajmal is the spinner in the XI. The pace attack includes Stuart Broad, Vernon Philander and Steyn. AB de Villiers was chosen as 12th man.

For Amla, Kallis and Sangakkara, this is the third consecutive year that they have made the team, while for Cook and Broad it's the second.

The team was announced alongside the shortlists for the ICC's annual awards ceremony on Thrusday. The players were chosen by a panel consisting of former players - West Indies batsmen Clive Lloyd and Carl Hooper, Sri Lanka opener Marvan Attapatu, Australia allrounder Tom Moody and England Women's captain Clare Connor - based on their performance between August 4, 2011, and August 6, 2012.

Lloyd, who was the chairman of the selection panel, said apart from statistics, the playing conditions encountered by the cricketers were taken into account while picking the team. "The selectors did utilise a vast amount of statistics from the period under observation, but we also took into account all other factors like the opposition, pitch conditions, match situation etc.

"The process of selection was a difficult one, with a lengthy debate between the panel on all the top performances during the voting period, and various combinations were considered."

The ICC ODI Team of the Year will be announced prior to the awards function, which is set for September 15 in Colombo.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2011-12: Alastair Cook, Hashim Amla, Kumar Sangakkara, Jacques Kallis, Michael Clarke (capt), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Matt Prior (wk), Stuart Broad, Saeed Ajmal, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, AB de Villiers (12th man)

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Nandaka on September 1, 2012, 21:13 GMT

    Huh huh haaa....Someone has suggested Misbah ul Haq to replace M.Clark..Am I on a wrong planet or what ??????

  • Nandaka on September 1, 2012, 20:40 GMT

    Amen to "mrcric32" !!!!!! well said. By the way, Sanga should have been the W'keeper coz you don't need a 1st slip when he keeps...:)))))))) I mean seriously..

  • anup on September 1, 2012, 13:39 GMT

    good choice, but i would like to see de villers as wicket keeper in stead of prior & anderson/junaid/roach should replace broad...

  • marino on September 1, 2012, 12:38 GMT

    Smith and Hafeez shoud have taken the opening slots and Amla should have gone down the order to take Kallis's place as Kallis and Cook didnt deserve there places in the XI.: Line-up should have been: Smith, Hafeez, Sangakkara, Amla, Clarke, Chanderpaul, Prior, Broad, Ajmal, Philander, Steyn... Its a shame AB.Devilliers misses out as he is a great batsman but the middle order is settle in my lineup...!

  • Dummy4 on September 1, 2012, 7:15 GMT

    dont think cook deserve the place.... hafeez in gud nick with bat and ball in every form of cricket .... just feels icc missed it

  • John on September 1, 2012, 3:40 GMT

    I guess Broad was lucky to get in, his stats are only marginally better than Steyn's.

  • Dummy4 on August 31, 2012, 22:40 GMT

    Seems to be a fair selection.....

  • wils on August 31, 2012, 20:38 GMT

    Love readin the pathetic comments from my fellow indians. Come on guys, grow up. Learn to appreciate. This is the best team and can beat any team anywhere in the world. Clarke as the captain is the perfect choice. And the people who are complaining about Sachin, Virat, Laxman Dravid etc....do you guys realize that this is the test team and they have considered the runs scored/wickets taken during a specific qualifying period? Kohli scored most of his runs in One-day, not tests. and Sachin....seriously? just because he scored 100th 100, he should be in team? He scored that 100th 100 for himself, not for country....time to grow up guys....give credits to those who deserve....not the self proclaimed gods......

  • Vikram on August 31, 2012, 20:32 GMT

    @Umesh Koodali: I hope you are being sarcastic. I believe the reason for Dravid's exclusion is that he retired? And the reason for Broad being in the team beats me.

  • Dummy4 on August 31, 2012, 20:23 GMT

    It is very funny to see my indian brothers whining about the team. I love it. So pathetic comments. Grow up. India is good only in India and that too flat tracks. And people talking about Virat and Sachin, do you guys know that they were poor than average players during the August 2011 and 2012? How many 100s virat scored in tests? How many runs Sachin, the SELFISH, scored in tests during the qualifying period? Someone wants Dravid, Laxman, Sehwag, Zaheer, Sachin and others included in the team. LOL....so funny.. why not raina, dhoni, jadeja, ojha, pathan???? This is the best team and can beat any team anywhere in the world.period. BTW, I am also from India. :-P

  • No featured comments at the moment.