ICC awards 2012 September 14, 2012

Dhoni leads ICC's one-day Team of the Year

ESPNcricinfo staff

India's MS Dhoni has been named captain of the ICC's ODI Team of the Year for 2011-12. This is the fifth year in a row that Dhoni has made the team.

His India team-mates, Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir, are also in, with Alastair Cook, Kumar Sangakkara and Michael Clarke making up the rest of the batting. The bowlers include Morne Morkel, Steven Finn, Lasith Malinga and Saeed Ajmal, with Shahid Afridi filling the allrounder's spot. Shane Watson was named 12th man.

Cook, Sangakkara, Clarke and Ajmal were also named in the ICC's Test Team of the Year for 2011-12. It is the first time that Ajmal, Kohli and Finn are featuring in the one-day team.

Several South African batsmen who are near the top of the ODI rankings - such as Hashim Amla (currently No. 1) and AB de Villiers (No. 3) - are likely to have missed out because South Africa played very few ODIs between August 4, 2011 and August 6, 2012, the assessment period for picking the team.*

The team was announced on the eve of the ICC's annual awards function that will be held in Colombo on Saturday. It was picked by a panel consisting of former players: West Indies batsmen Clive Lloyd and Carl Hooper, Sri Lanka opener Marvan Attapatu, Australia allrounder Tom Moody and England Women's captain Clare Connor. The same panel had picked the Test Team of the Year last month.

Lloyd, who was the chairman of the selection panel, said: "This team, along with the Test Team of the Year was extremely difficult to decide upon. We feel the side has strength to bat well down the order, while also having a good variety for any type of conditions when it comes to its bowling attack."

Dave Richardson, the ICC's chief executive, emphasised the team's strength. "I think we can safely say that this is one of the strongest ODI Team of the Year selections ever in the awards history," Richardson said.

* September 14 17.20GMT: This story has been updated to include details on South Africa's batsmen

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dave on September 16, 2012, 19:13 GMT

    Amla not here? Hashim has been the best cricketer in all formats this past 2 years? Whats up ICC?

  • Dummy4 on September 16, 2012, 17:07 GMT

    where is shakib ????? isnt he the worlds number one allrounder or has icc forgotten that

  • anup on September 16, 2012, 11:17 GMT

    how could shakib miss the odi squad... doesnt comes in my mind... can anyone tell?

  • Dummy4 on September 16, 2012, 9:27 GMT

    @Md Layek Zaman Layek : where is kohli in ur selection dude....

  • Janaka on September 16, 2012, 4:21 GMT

    Oh where is Dayle Stane???

  • Dummy4 on September 16, 2012, 3:07 GMT

    2012 One days Records... MS Dhoni : 15M 13I 5N 411TR 58*HS 51.37Av 86.89SR A Cook : 15M 15I 1N 663TR 137 HS 47.35Av 79.97SR

    -- Eng Played 17 Odis under cook and Won 12 Matches.... -- India Played 16 Odis under Dhoni and Won 9Matches....

    -- How can MS Dhoni can Lead the ICC ODI Team Of the Year.........

  • Dummy4 on September 16, 2012, 0:33 GMT

    Hashim Amla missed in ODI team?? Saeed Ajmal missed is ICC shorlist??? Aleem Dar missed Best umipre?? What is Wrong with ICC

  • Dummy4 on September 15, 2012, 22:38 GMT

    ICC one-day Team of the Year: Gautam Gambhir, Alastair Cook, Kumar Sangakkara, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni (capt & wk), Michael Clarke, Shahid Afridi, Morne Morkel, Steven Finn, Lasith Malinga, Saeed Ajmal, Shane Watson (12th man)

    Rest of the world (My own opposite 11):- 1. Chris Gayle (Allrounder) 2. Hashim Amla 3. Brendon McCullum (wc) 4. Jacques Kallis (Allrounder) 5. Mahela Jayawardene (c) 6. Mike Hussy 7. Sakib al hasan (Allrounder) 8. Stuart Broad 9. Dale Steyn 10. (Btett Lee) Mitchell Starc 11. Ravichandran Ashwin (12th man: Angelo Mathews (Allrounder) What do you think, which team would be stronger?

  • Dummy4 on September 15, 2012, 21:28 GMT

    Where is AMLA ..?? are you crazy .?

  • Adrian on September 15, 2012, 15:42 GMT

    Hashim Amla was the 2nd best player, only behind Kohli, in the ODI format. There is no way that either Cook or Gambhir can be ranked ahead of him. Amla should have opened with Shane Watson. The rest are probably reasonable. Cook shouldn't be in the side at all and Gambhir can be 12th man.

  • No featured comments at the moment.