June 13, 2001

Sehwag, Dinesh Mongia, Harvinder Singh, Sodhi in Indian squad for triangular

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) today announced a fourteen man squad for the triangular limited overs series to be played in Zimbabwe shortly. Announcing the team at a press conference at Mumbai, Jaywant Lele, Honourary Secretary of the BCCI, told reporters that Javagal Srinath, who had asked to be rested for one-dayers, left arm medium pacer Ashish Nehra, opening batsmen Shiv Sunder Das, Sadagoppan Ramesh and leg spinner Sairaj Bahutule would return from Zimbabwe soon after the second test which will end on June 19.

The chairman of the selection committee, Chandu Borde, who too spoke to reporters, said Yuvraj Singh and Dinesh Mongia (both from Punjab) were discussed but the committee opted for the latter as he was more consistent. Ajit Agarkar, who did not play in the first test due to leg injury, was pronounced fully fit by team physio Andrew Leipus.

Indian squad: Sourav Ganguly (capt), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Hemang Badani, Samir Dighe, Debasish Mohanty, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh, Reetinder Singh Sodhi, Harvinder Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Dinesh Mongia and Virender Sehwag.