March 10, 2001

Australian one-day international squad for India announced

The Australian Cricket Board (ACB) today announced a squad of 14 for the five-game one-day international series against India, beginning on 25 March 2001.

The squad, which is sponsored by Kelvinator, is:

Stephen Waugh (Captain) New South Wales
Adam Gilchrist (Vice-captain) Western Australia
Michael Bevan New South Wales
Nathan Bracken New South Wales
Damien Fleming Victoria
Jason Gillespie South Australia
Ian Harvey Victoria
Darren Lehmann South Australia
Damien Martyn Western Australia
Glenn McGrath New South Wales
Ricky Ponting Tasmania
Andrew Symonds Queensland
Shane Warne Victoria
Mark Waugh New South Wales
Steve Bernard (Team Manager) New South Wales
Pat Farhart (Physiotherapist) New South Wales
John Buchanan (Coach) Queensland
Jock Campbell (Fitness Adviser) New South Wales
Mike Walsh
(Cricket Analyst/Assistant Manager)

Jason Gillespie is the only addition to the squad that won the 2000-01 Carlton Series against the West Indies and Zimbabwe. The right-arm quick missed the series due to a hamstring injury.

Additional players to the Test squad that is currently playing in India are Michael Bevan, Ian Harvey, Darren Lehmann, Andrew Symonds and Nathan Bracken. The Test players not taking part in the one-day international series are Michael Slater, Justin Langer, Colin Miller, Michael Kasprowicz and Matthew Hayden.

All-rounder Ian Harvey's place on the tour is subject to a fitness test. This test will take place a few days before the team departs for India. Harvey fractured his right thumb on 3 March during the Bushrangers versus Tasmanian Tigers match in Hobart.

Head-to-head, Australia and India have played 62 matches, Australia winning 36, India winning 23, with three no results.

In India, Australia has played 39 matches, winning 21, losing 15, with three no results.

Australia last played India in Nairobi during the ICC Knockout. India won this match by 20 runs.

The one-day international series begins in Bangalore on 25 March. The players then move to Pune for the second game (28 March), followed by Indore (31 March), Visakapatnam (3 April) and Goa (6 April).