May 14, 2001

Argentina ICC Trophy squad

The National Selectors announced the 14 man squad that will represent Argentina at the ICC Trophy competition to be held in Toronto, Canada in June and July, 2001.

Guillermo Kirschbaum (captain)
Hernan Pereryra (vice-captain)
Gaston Arizaga
Martin Cortabarria
Alejandro Ferguson
Pablo Ferguson
Donny Forrester
Tomas Francis
Diego Lord
Lucas Paterlini
Matias Paterlini
Andres Perez Rivero
Christian Tuñon
Malcolm Van Steeden

Agustin Casime
Esteban MacDermott
Martin Siri
Gerben Zwaga

Nine of the fourteen selected were in Malaysia representing Argentina at the previous ICC Trophy in 1997.

For Kirschbaum, Pereyra and Forrester, this will be their fourth ICC Trophy, having debuted at the 1990 tournament in Holland.

Amongst the reserves is Agustin Casime, at 16 years of age, the youngest player amongst the eighteen players named.

The side will travel under manager Ricardo Lord, coach Grant Dugmore, from South Africa, and American trainer Tom Burton.

Argentina's representative umpire will be David Gibson, who officiated in the 2000 Americas Championship.