October 27, 2001

Boje and Hayward recalled to South African Test squad

Peter Rob inson

Nicky Boje and Nantie Hayward have been recalled to a South African squad of 12 for the first Test match against India starting at Goodyear Park in Bloemfontein on Saturday November 3.

Left-arm spinner Boje has not played a Test match for South Africa since the fourth Test against the West Indies and returns to displace Claude Henderson who did duty in the two Test matches in Zimbabwe in September.

Hayward, meanwhile, comes back for his first Test match since the tour of Sri Lanka in 2000 to take the place of Andre Nel. With both Allan Donald and Mfuneko Ngam injured, the South Africans will look to Hayward to provide a cutting edge to their seam attack. Certainly, in the two one-day games he has played in the past week Hayward was worked up impressive pace allied to his previously uncertain control. He broke through the 150km/h barrier during the Standard Bank Series final against India on Friday and, as South African coach Graham Ford said on Saturday, "It's always handy to have someone who's genuinely quick. Nantie bowled superbly in his two one-day games last week and we think he'll be able to take this form into the Test matches with no trouble".

Boland swing bowler Charl Langeveldt has also been included in the South African squad, but seems certain to be named 12th man while with Daryll Cullinan still not having played a first class match this summer, Boeta Dippenaar will fill the number five batting spot.

HD Ackerman, meanwhile, to captain the South African A team against India in East London from November 10-13. A feature of the side is the inclusion of three spin bowlers, Paul Adams, Justin Ontong and Gulam Bodi. Strangely, though, there is no place for Henderson who must surely have been strongly considered for the South Africa Test side.


South Africa: Shaun Pollock (Capt), Nicky Boje, Mark Boucher, Boeta Dippenaar, Herschelle Gibbs, Mornantau Hayward, Jacques Kallis, Gary Kirsten, Lance Klusener, Charl Langeveldt, Neil McKenzie, Makhaya Ntini.

South Africa A team: HD Ackerman (Capt), Paul Adams, Gulam Bodi, Justin Kemp, Charl Langeveldt, Andre Nel, Justin Ontong, Jacques Rudolph, Graeme Smith, Thami Tsolekile, Martin van Jaarsveld, Charl Willoughby.