July 15, 2003

Aces contracts announced

Auckland Cricket today released the names of 11 players offered domestic contracts for the 2003-04 season.

The players offered domestic contracts are (in alphabetical order):

Aaron Barnes
Tama Canning
Paul Hitchcock
Llorne Howell
Tim McIntosh
Rob Nicol
Craig Pryor
Gareth Shaw
Brooke Walker
Kerry Walmsley
Reece Young

A feature of the list is the inclusion of Aaron Barnes, who has reviewed his decision to retire at the end of last season. This follows his outstanding performances in the State series last year, and continued good form in Wales this northern summer.

Players who were contracted last season and not included this time are Kyle Mills (promoted to a New Zealand Cricket contract), Richard Morgan (retired) and Bradley Nielsen (unavailable). New contractors are Barnes, and two former Aucklanders returning to the province, Paul Hitchcock and Kerry Walmsley.

The Auckland players offered New Zealand Cricket contracts last month are:

Andre Adams
Matt Horne
Kyle Mills
Mark Richardson
Lou Vincent

These 16 players will form the core of the State Auckland Aces squad which will seek to repeat last season's success in the State Championship, and go one better than their second placing in the State Shield competition.