New Zealand in Bangladesh 2004-05 September 20, 2004

McMillan and Tuffey left out of Bangladesh tour

Craig McMillan won't be dressed in whites for a while © AFP

Craig McMillan has been dropped from New Zealand's squad for the tour of Bangladesh starting next month, but, in all likelihood, will be picked for the one-dayers that follow. Daryl Tuffey has also been left out to give him time to recover from a bruising problem.

Hamish Marshall, who has largely been regarded as a one-day specialist, has been included in the side as McMillan's replacement. The move was seen as preparation before the team plays in two series against Australia, home and away, and a Sri Lankan tour of New Zealand.

John Bracewell, New Zealand's coach, said that there was an element of "horses for courses" in Marshall's inclusion, and also a reflection of the progress he had made since gaining a one-day position late last year. He added that Marshall's previous experiences in the subcontinent would hold him in good stead.

"Hamish has had previous success in the subcontinent on New Zealand A tours and that experience will be important in the conditions we will be playing in," The New Zealand Herald quoted Bracewell as saying. "He will bat in the middle order where he is a different sort of player than the likes of Styris and Astle."

Tuffey was replaced by James Franklin, who received a nod for his recent good work. Bracewell said: "Looking down the track to Australia and Sri Lanka, he [Tuffey] is very important, and every step needs to be taken to ensure he is ready for both the home and away series this summer.

"James Franklin has done well in England recently and it is logical that without Tuffey he would come in to the squad. This tour also represents an opportunity for Paul Wiseman and Chris Martin who, like Franklin, have been recalled after having played for New Zealand A in South Africa.

"We are looking forward to the challenge of touring Bangladesh," Bracewell continued, "and doing well in testing conditions before we take on the task of touring Australia."

The tour begins with a three-day match in Dhaka on October 14, with the first Test on October 19, also at Dhaka. A separate squad will be named later for the three one-day matches.

New Zealand squad Stephen Fleming (capt), Nathan Astle, Ian Butler, James Franklin, Hamish Marshall, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum (wk), Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Michael Papps, Mark Richardson, Scott Styris, Daniel Vettori, Paul Wiseman.